
Monroe County Vital Records 

Death Certificates 
Monroe County deaths only 

Who is eligible to obtain a death certificate? 
Eligible persons include: 

 Surviving spouse listed on death certificate

 Parent NOT Stepparent

 Child NOT Stepchild

 Sibling NOT Stepsibling

o Documented lawful right or claim
o Documented medical need
o New York State Court Order

What is lawful right or claim? 
A lawful right or claim exists when a death record is required to obtain benefits such as life insurance, stocks, bonds or 
unclaimed funds.  In order to meet the guidelines by New York State Public Health Law, the application must include an 
official letter from the agency or comptroller’s office addressed to the applicant and naming the deceased in the body of 
the letter.  If the letter does not meet these requirements, the application will be refused. 

Identification Requirements 
One (1) of the following forms of photo ID: 

 Driver’s license

 State issued non-driver’s ID

 Passport

 US military issued ID

What is the fee for a death certificate? 
The fee is $30 per certified copy. 
Internet and phone orders require a major credit card.  There is an additional $10 processing fee per transaction (not per 
copy) applied to online and phone orders, additional expedited options are available. 
Payment of mail order requests may be made by check or money order drawn on a United State bank and payable to 
Monroe County Vital Records.   

How can I order? 
Order via the internet through our secured online ordering system by clicking here: Order Online 
Order by telephone by calling: (585) 753-5141
Order by mail by submitting the following completed application: Death Certificate Mail-In Application 

Requests by Mail 
The following must be included with your request: 

 Completed application or letter stating decedent name, date of death, relationship to the record being requested
and signature of applicant.

 Copy of ID (see requirements above)

 Payment by check or money order drawn on a US bank, payable to Monroe County Vital Records – DO NOT SEND
CASH.  If you are using a third party check, please include a copy of their photo ID.

How do I obtain an autopsy report? 
Autopsy reports are available through the Office of the Medical Examiner by contacting (585) 753-5916. 

https://vr.monroecounty.gov/
https://www2.monroecounty.gov/files/health/Birth/Death%20Certificate%20Mail%20In%20Application.pdf

