Skip navigation.

Help | Contact Us | FAQ | Site Map

County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo Creates Online Registry for NYSAFE Act Privacy Form

Mon, Feb 11 2013

Rochester -- Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo has created an on-line registry on the County Clerk’s website for Monroe County Pistol Permit holders to sign up to have the NYSAFE Act privacy form e-mailed to them. This provides customers the convenience of receiving the form immediately when it becomes available and saves them a trip downtown to obtain the form. 


New York State’s new gun law (NYSAFE Act) includes the ability for pistol permit holders to request that their information be kept confidential by completing and submitting a State Police “Opt-Out” privacy form. As of today, the form has not been made available by the State Police.


“We are doing everything we can to make it easier for our customers to navigate the provisions of the State’s new gun law and this online registry will make sure permit holders receive the “Opt-Out” privacy form as soon as the State Police make it available,” said Dinolfo“Customers will have the convenient option of printing the form at home, completing it and mailing it back to the County Clerk’s Office.”


The New York State Police has stated that the “Opt-Out” privacy form would be created and made available by February 15th. In preparation for this and in an effort to provide this new form as quickly and conveniently as possible for customers, County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo is encouraging all Monroe County Pistol Permit Holders to submit their current e-mail address to the Monroe County Clerk’s "Opt-Out" Form Registry. When this form is made available, those who have submitted their email address will receive an electronic version of the form for completion and return to the County Clerk’s Office.


According to the NY SAFE Act, Pistol Permit holders will initially have 60 days after the forms are made available by the State Police to submit them to the Clerk’s Office. However, the NYSAFE Act does allow permit holders to continue to “opt-out” after the 60 days has passed, so customers can still submit

e-mail addresses and have a form sent to them. In order for pistol permit holders to "Opt-Out" and have their information kept private, the form needs to be completed in its entirety and mailed to:


Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo
c/o Pistol Permit Office
39 W. Main Street, Room 101
Rochester, NY 14614