

CLIMATE ACTION PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Co-Chairpersons Matthew O'Connor Michael Yudelson

Vice-Chairperson Sue Hughes-Smith

MEMBERS Appointees

County Executive Kathryn McArdle

President, Legislature Karla Boyce John Botelho

Legislature Majority

Fred Ancello Matthew O'Connor Co-Chairperson

Legislature Minority

Michael Yudelson Co-Chairperson Sue Hughes-Smith Vice Chairperson

Monroe County DES Michael Garland

Legislative Majority – Student

Leah Wirley

Legislative Minority – Student

Helen Frank

County Executive – Student

Liam Smith

September 14, 2020

The Honorable Joseph Carbone, President Monroe County Legislature 410 County Office Building 39 West Main Street Rochester, New York 14614-1476

Dear President Carbone,

The Monroe County Climate Action Plan Advisory Committee (Committee) was created in May, 2020. Comprised of seven voting and four non-voting members, the Committee has as its charge "to identify and review practices and policies which may reduce residential and commercial environmental impact."

The Committee held its organizational meeting in August. At the September 3rd meeting, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend submitting the Climate Smart Communities Referral 20-0152, to Your Honorable Body for adoption.

Climate Smart Communities (CSC) is a New York State program that helps local governments take action to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and adapt to a changing climate. Monroe County has long been a leader in sustainable policy and protecting natural resources; participation in CSC will help to enhance these efforts. Locally, current CSC municipalities include the City of Rochester, Brighton and Irondequoit.

Participation in the CSC program will provide better scoring in several grant programs and New York State Department of Environmental Conservation CSC grant opportunities. Involvement will also provide a framework and resources for the County's Climate Action Plan.

New York State requires that this final resolution be signed by the Clerk of the Legislature.

The Committee looks forward to its continued work for the Legislature for the betterment of Monroe County and its environment.

Sincerely,

WZJIZ

/s/

Co-ChairpersonMatthew O'Connor

Co-Chairperson Michael Yudelson **Vice-Chairperson** Sue Hughes-Smith

1 to feet

cc: Hon. Adam J. Bello, County Executive Michael J. Garland, DES Director