

CLIMATE ACTION PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Co-Chairpersons Matthew O'Connor Michael Yudelson

Vice-Chairperson Sue Hughes-Smith

MEMBERS Appointees

County Executive Kathryn McArdle

President, Legislature Karla Boyce John Botelho

Legislature Majority

Fred Ancello Matthew O'Connor Co-Chairperson

Legislature Minority

Michael Yudelson Co-Chairperson Sue Hughes-Smith Vice Chairperson

Monroe County DES Michael Garland

Legislative Majority – Student

Leah Wirley

Legislative Minority – Student

Helen Frank

County Executive – Student

Liam Smith

September 14, 2020

The Honorable Joseph Carbone, President Monroe County Legislature 410 County Office Building 39 West Main Street Rochester, New York 14614-1476

Dear President Carbone,

The Monroe County Climate Action Plan Advisory Committee (Committee) was created in May, 2020. Comprised of seven voting and four non-voting members, the Committee has as its charge "to identify and review practices and policies which may reduce residential and commercial environmental impact."

The Committee held its organizational meeting in August. At the September 3rd meeting, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend submitting the Climate Smart Communities Referral 20-0152, to Your Honorable Body for adoption.

Climate Smart Communities (CSC) is a New York State program that helps local governments take action to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and adapt to a changing climate. Monroe County has long been a leader in sustainable policy and protecting natural resources; participation in CSC will help to enhance these efforts. Locally, current CSC municipalities include the City of Rochester, Brighton and Irondequoit.

Participation in the CSC program will provide better scoring in several grant programs and New York State Department of Environmental Conservation CSC grant opportunities. Involvement will also provide a framework and resources for the County's Climate Action Plan.

New York State requires that this final resolution be signed by the Clerk of the Legislature.

The Committee looks forward to its continued work for the Legislature for the betterment of Monroe County and its environment.

Sincerely,

WZJIZ

/s/

Co-Chairperson
Matthew O'Connor

Co-Chairperson Michael Yudelson Vice-Chairperson Sue Hughes-Smith

Su to fee

cc: Hon. Adam J. Bello, County Executive Michael J. Garland, DES Director



Office of the County Executive

Monroe County, New York

Adam J. Bello County Executive

April 10, 2020

OFFICIAL FILE COPY
No. 200152

Not to be removed from the Office of the Legislature Of Monroe County

Committee Assignment

ENV. & PUR WORKS

To The Honorable Monroe County Legislature 407 County Office Building Rochester, New York 14614

Subject: Adopt a Climate Smart Communities Resolution

Honorable Legislators:

I recommend that Your Honorable Body adopt the attached Climate Smart Communities Resolution.

Climate Action is the theme for the 50th Anniversary of Earth Day, April 22, 2020. Climate change is one of the biggest challenges for protecting the future of our community. Monroe County is a leader in sustainable policy and protecting natural resources. Climate Smart Communities (CSC) is a New York State program that helps local governments take action to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and adapt to a changing climate. Monroe County's participation in the CSC program will continue efforts to protect our environment.

Participation in the CSC program will provide better scoring in several grant programs including New York State Department of Environmental Conservation CSC grant opportunities. Additionally, participation will provide a framework and resources for the County's proposed Climate Action Plan. New York State requires that the final resolution be signed by the Clerk of the Legislature.

The specific legislative action required is to adopt the attached Climate Smart Communities Resolution.

This action is a Type II Action pursuant to 6 NYCRR § 617.5(c) and is not subject to review under the State Environmental Quality Review Act.

This proposed resolution shall have no impact on the revenues or expenditures of the current Monroe County Budget.

I recommend that this matter be referred to the appropriate committee(s) for favorable action by Your Honorable Body.

Sincerely,

Adam J. Bello

Monroe County Executive

AJB:db

Climate Smart Communities Resolution

WHEREAS, the County of Monroe believes that climate change poses a real and increasing threat to our local and global environments and is primarily due to the burning of fossil fuels; and

WHEREAS, the effects of climate change will endanger our infrastructure, economy and livelihoods; harm our farms, orchards, and ecological communities, including native fish and wildlife populations; spread invasive species and exotic diseases; reduce drinking water supplies and recreational opportunities; and pose health threats to our citizens; and

WHEREAS, we believe that our response to climate change provides us with an unprecedented opportunity to save money, and to build livable, energy-independent and secure communities, vibrant innovation economies, healthy and safe schools, and resilient infrastructures; and

WHEREAS, we believe the scale of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions reductions required for climate stabilization will require sustained and substantial efforts; and

WHEREAS, we believe that even if emissions were dramatically reduced today, communities would still be required to adapt to the effects of climate change for decades to come,

IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED that the County of Monroe, in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and adapt to a changing climate, adopts the New York State Climate Smart Communities pledge, which comprises the following ten elements:

- 1) Build a climate-smart community.
- 2) Inventory emissions, set goals, and plan for climate action.
- 3) Decrease energy use.
- 4) Shift to clean, renewable energy.
- 5) Use climate-smart materials management.
- 6) Implement climate-smart land use.
- 7) Enhance community resilience to climate change.
- 8) Support a green innovation economy.
- 9) Inform and inspire the public.
- 10) Engage in an evolving process of climate action.

ADOPTION: DATE:	VO	TE:
APPROVED:	VETOED:	
		I. J. M. CC
		Jack Moffitt
		Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature