Office of the County Clerk

Monroe County, New York
Ms. Jamie Romeo Mr. Thaddeus Mack
County Clerk Deputy County Clerk
September 2022

Dear Pistol Permit Applicant:

The Monroe County Clerk’'s Office is proud to be the lead administrative agency that provides a pass-
through for pistol permit applications as they make their way through the authorization process. Due to
the number of agencies involved and the tasks required of each of these agencies, according to state and
federal law, the processing of a pistol permit application can take up to 12 months, with a majority
completed within 6 months.

The County Clerk's Office facilitates the transfer of the pistol permit file to the Monroe County Sheriff's
Office for suburban residents and the Rochester Police Department for City residents. Law Enforcement
will conduct a thorough investigation, interview references, and receive comment from the State
Department of Mental Hygiene and the State Department of Criminai Justice Services. Thereafter, a
recommendation is made to the Court for approval or denial.

Once the County Clerk’s Office receives the pistol permit file from the Law Enforcement agency, it is
forwarded to a Monroe County Court Judge who will then make a final decision on the applications.
Applicants may receive notice of approval or disapproval from a Judge by mail and must confirm receipt
of letter prior to your permit being issued.
Please advise:

* Due to state privacy laws, staff cannot provide a status of your permit over the phone or via email.

¢ [f anything changes at any point during the process, including an address change, you must inform
our office.

¢ Upon receipt of your approval letter you must complete an attestation form either online or via mail to
receive your new pistol permit. You can find this on our website.

» The Monroe County Clerk’s Office has no authority or decision making in this process but acts as an
agent on behalf of the licensing officer.

Please vist www.monroecounty.gov/pistols for more information.

Sincerely,

C|Ms. Jamie Romeo

Monroe County Clerk

101 County Office Building * 39 West Main Street * Rochester, New York
14614 www.monroecounty.gov/pistols



Directions from the Monroe County
Clerks office to the Monroe County
Sheriff's Office Criminal Records Unit
for fingerprinting services for Pistol
Permit Applications.
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From the County Office Building, go south on Fitzhugh Street across Broad Street and enter the
Civic Center garage. Follow the west wall 3/4 of the way into the garage and enteér the County
Public Safety Building through the grey doors on the west wall of the garage. Take tha elevator to
the Piaza level. The Monroa County Criminal Records Unit lobby [s directly off the elevators.

From the County Office Building, go south on Fitzhugh Street. Turn right (west) on Broad Sirest.

Just past the Terminal Building, turn teft (south} onto School Alley. Turn left {east) at the stairs and
go up the stairs to the Civic Center Plaza. Turn right (south) on the Clvic Center Plaza, and follow
the County Office Building past City Court 1 & § to the south end of the building. Enter the glass

doors on the right into the Monroe County Criminal Records Unit lobby.




MONROE COUNTY PISTOL PERMIT APPLICATION
REQUIREMENTS, INSTRUCTIONS AND ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

REQUIREMENTS:

e Must be at least 21 years of age to apply for a pistol permit

o Can be at least 18 years of age if you have been honorably discharged from the US Army, Navy, Marine
Corps, Air Force or Coast Guard or the NYS National Guard

e JF YOU HAVE LIVED IN MONROE COUNTY FOR 3+ CONSECUTIVE YEARS: must provide 4 character
references that must be Monroe County residents that have known you for at least 3 years. References may not be
law enforcement, retired law enforcement, multiple people from the same household, family members or anyone
who may be included as a member of your household. This also includes boyfriend/girlfriend and husband/wife.

¢ [F YOU HAVE LIVED IN MONROE COUNTY FOR LESS THAN 3 YEARS: must provide the above 4
character references plus an additional 3 notarized references from persons who live in the state or county where
you previously lived.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBURBAN RESIDENTS (individuals living outside of the City limits

1. Complete both applications and all enclosed forms.

Print legibly in black ink
Fill out both copies of the Pistol/Revolver License Application. We cannot accept copies, both pages must be
an original
o NOTE: your references MUST sign both copies of the Application, again no copies
DO NOT SIGN the Application until you are in front of a clerk. Notaries are available in our office
Fill out one Applicant & Reference Contact Information Form
Fill out one Department of Mental Hygiene inquiry
Fill out one Applicant Questionnaire, this will include request for social media information
If seeking a concealed carry permit, the additional forms must also be completed
o Completed Training Certification Form — Classroom (signed by authorized instructor)
o Completed Training Certification Form — Live Fire (signed by authorized instructor)
OPTIONAL.: Fill out Request for Public Records Exemption Form
If a language interpreter is required for your in-person interview with the Licensing Officer, please include
this request with your application.

2. Make an appointment to turn in your application with the Monroe County Clerk’s Office. Go to our
website: www.monroecounty.gov/clerk-pistolpermits to schedule your appointment. You will need to bring:

completed application packet with original documents — Copies will NOT be accepted
$129.00 (cash, check or credit card) payable to the Monroe County Clerk — This fee includes the cost of
your permit and photos. All fees are nonrefundable.

s A valid form of photo ID, including Driver’s License or Non-Driver ID

At this point, the Monroe County Clerk’s office will take in your application, take your photo and obtain your electronic
signature and thumbprint for your permit. We can no longer accept pre-printed photos.

3. Obtain fingerprints from the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office. The Sheriff’s Office is doing pistol permit
fingerprinting by appointment only. To schedule your appointment please call (585) 753-4175. A valid photo ID
with signature is required for identification. Take your receipt with you to the Sheriff’s Office.

Monroe County Sheriff’s Office Hours: Monday-Thursday  10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Public Safety Building 2:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
130 South Plymouth Ave. Friday 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Rochester, NY 14614 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Fnr more informatinn aor FAO) nlense vicit our wehgite af www monroecountv gnvnisinls 1



ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Per the Conceal Carry Improvement Act, effective 9/1/2022 all pistol permit applications will be required to have an in-
person interview with a County Court Judge, the Licensing Officer.

If you elect to list a gun on your permit application, an original bill of sale from a Federal Firearms Licensed (FLL) Dealer
and the Bill of Sale form from the Monroe County Clerk’s Office MUST accompany the application.

Per NYS SAFE Act Law: ALL private firearms sales/transfers in New York require a background check of the
buyer/transferee. Sales or transfers to immediate family members (i.e., spouses, domestic partners, children, and
stepchildren) are exempt. For more information, visit https://safeact.ny.gov/ or call 1-855-LAW-GUNS.

Unregistered pistols in your possession or out-of-state pistols must be turned in to local Law Enforcement until your
permit is issued. If you have an unregistered pistol, please call 911 and request to meet with an officer to surrender the
pistol into their custody. You will be given a receipt for the pistol(s), which must be included with your application. You
will also need to include a notarized letter explaining how the pistol was obtained and whether it was legally registered
elsewhere,

You are not required to acquire a gun before applying for a pistol permit.
WHAT DOES ARREST MEAN?
Your pistol permit application asks: “Have you ever been arrested, summoned, charged or indicted anywhere for any

offense, including DWI (except traffic infractions)?” You must state ALL arrests regardless of whether or not you were
convicted. Sealed charges must also be listed.

Per the Conceal Carry Improvement Act, effective 9/1/2022 a number of additional convictions will be considered
disqualifying offenses including misdemeanor DWI, Assault 3 and Menacing. These will be being included in a 5-year
look back portion of the investigation.

What does arrest mean?

e You were given an appearance ticket by a police officer to appear before a judge for anything from a town/village
ordinance on up to a felony.,
You were handcuffed and taken to jail.
You were fingerprinted and photographed for a criminal matter of DWI by the police.
A warrant for an arrest was issued for you and you either were directed to turn yourself into a police department
or appear before a judge.

* You were directed by a police officer to appear before a judge.

ANY OMISSION OF FACT OR ANY FALSE STATEMENT MAY RESULT IN DENJAL OF THIS
APPLICATION, OR LATER REVOCATION OF YOUR PERMIT AND CONSTITUTES A CRIME
PUNISHABLE BY FINE, IMPRISONMENT OR BOTH,

If you appeared in Court, you must provide an official disposition from the Court(s) with your application. We need to
know the final outcome of your case(s).

Even if the Court no longer has record of the outcome of your case(s) because it is a very old case(s) or they have
destroyed the record or your case(s) were sealed; you still have a criminal record and all New York State Police
Departments have full access to this information, even if it was an out-of-state arrest.

The term “sealed record” means that at the time of your last court appearance it was the Judge’s decision to seal the case
so only authorized persons can view the outcome. Most courts and police departments will not give you this information.
It will appear as “no record” when you request a criminal record check at a police department or request dispositions from
the courts. This does not mean that you were not arrested or that you don’t have a criminal record.

You must state all arrests even if you do not remember the dates or dispositions, even if you have had multiple arrests
over several years. If you appeared before the Judge, you must state it.

For more information or FAQ, please visit our website at www.monroecounly.gov/pistols. 2




Office of the Sheriff

MONROE COUNTY
‘ONE TEAM"

Sheriff Todd K. Baxter Undersheriff Korey K. Brown

130 SOUTH PLYMOUTH AVENUE, ROCHESTER, NY 14614

Prior to submitting your non-refundable pistol permit application fee please be aware that NYS law
prohibits a pistol permit from being issued to anyone that has been involuntarily committed to a mental
health facility or convicted of any felony or serious offense*. In addition, a concealed carry pistol permit
may not be issued to anyone convicted of Driving While Intoxicated, Menacing or Assault 374 within five
(5) years of the date of conviction. A Certificate of Relief or Certificate of Good Conduct may restore your
rights. Call the MCSO Pistol Permit Background Investigation Unit at 585-753-4848 with any questions.

* Serious Offense in NYS is any of the following offenses defined in the penal law:
o illegally using, carrying or possessing a pistol or other dangerous weapon, 265.01

possession of burglar’s tools, 140.35

criminal possession of stolen property in the third degree, 165.50

escape in the third degree, 205.05

jostling, 165.25

fraudulent accosting, 165.30

endangering the welfare of a child, 260.10

the offenses defined in article two hundred thirty-five, 235

issuing abortional articles, 125.60

permitting prostitution, 230.40

promoting prostitution in the third degree, 230.25

stalking in the fourth degree, 120.45

stalking in the third degree, 120.50

the offenses defined in article one hundred thirty, 130

the offenses defined in article two hundred twenty, 220

¢ Any of the following offenses, where the defendant and the person against whom the offense was committed
were members of the same family or household as defined in subdivision one of section 530.11 of the criminal
procedure law and as established pursuant to section 370.15 of the criminal procedure law:
e assault in the third degree, 120.00
menacing in the third degree, 120.15
menacing in the second degree, 120.14
criminal obstruction of breathing or blood circulation, 121.11
unlawful imprisonment in the second degree, 135.05
coercion in the third degree, 135.60
criminal tampering in the third degree, 145.14
criminal contempt in the second degree, 215.50
harassment in the first degree, 240.25
aggravated harassment in the second degree, 240.30
criminal trespass in the third degree, 140.10
criminatl trespass in the second degree, 140.15
arson in the fifth degree, 150.01
= or attempt to commit any of the above-listed offenses
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PPB-3 (Rev 08/22) Complete the form In its entirety. Fields that are not fillable must be hand written/signed.

State of New York

Pistol/Revolver License Application
Semi-Automatic Rifle License Application

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY LICENSING OFFICE

NYSID # License #

County of lssue

Date of Issue Expiration Date

or with your written consent,

In accordance with the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, you are hereby notifled that your Social Security Number Is not mandated by law. It Is
required by the Pistol Permit Bureau as part of the standard for recording Firearms. Fallure to disclose your Soclal Security Number will
prohibit your transaction from belng recorded. The State Police will release your Soclal Security Number only for reasons required by law

Personal Information

Last Name First Name Middle Name Suffix

Street Name (Physical Address) Apt# | City State | Zip

Mailing Address (If Different than Physical) Apt # City State | Zip

Sex: DOB: Helght: ft in Waeight: Hair: Eyes:

Social Security Number: Race: NY Driver's License # (or Non-Driver iD)

Citizen of U.S. Primary Phone # Secondary Phone # Emaitl Address

Employed By Current Occupation Nature of Business

Business Address Apt# |City State | Zip

1 hereby apply for a PistolRevolver License to: (Check only one) Carry Concealed *Possess on Premises *Possess/Carry
During Employment

{*) Premise Address or Employer Name and Address must be provided below:

Employer Name (If Carry During Employment) | Address or Other Location {Street #, Street Name, Apartment Number, City, State, Zip Code)

I hereby apply for a Semi-Automatic Rifle License: {Check Yes or No)

Yeos

No

Glve four character references who by their signature attest to your good moral character:

Last, First, Ml Street Address (Street #, Name, Apartment #, City, State, Zip Code) | Signature




PPB-3 (Rev 08/22) New York State Police

State of New York

Pistol/Revolver License Application
Semi-Automatic Rifle License Application

Marital Status and Relationships-THIS SECTION ONLY APPLIES TO CARRY CONCEALED

CURRENT MARRIAGE OR RELATICNSHIP

What is the Applicant’s current relationship status?

if applicable, provide the requested information regarding the Applicant’s current relationship below.

Last Name First Name M. Maiden Name (If Applicable) DOB

Phone Number

Do minors reslde within the residence? Yes No If, yos: Part Time Full Time

ADULTS RESIDING IN HOME, INCLUDING ADULT CHILOREN

Last Name First Name M.l. | Maiden Name (If Applicable) DoOB

Phone Number

Last Name First Name M.l Maiden Name (If Applicable) DoB
Phone Number
Last Name First Name M.L Maiden Name (If Applicable) DOB

Phone Number

Social Media Accounts-THIS SECTION ONLY APPLIES TO CARRY CONCEALED

LIST FORMER AND CURRENT SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS




PPB-3 (Rev 08/22) New York State Police

State of New York

Pistol/Revolver License Application
Semi-Automatic Rifle License Application

Have you ever been arrested, summoned, charged or indicted anywhere for any offense, including sealed arrests DWI (except traffic infractions)?
Sealed arrests must be included. *Refer to Executive Law §296(16}

Yes | . No If yes, furnish the following information:

Arrest Date Police Agency Charge Disposition Date Disposition Court Disposition

Are you a fugitive from justice?

Are you an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance as defined in section 21 U.S.C. 8027

Are you an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States?

Are you an alien admitted to the United States who does not qualify for the exceptions under 18 U.S.C. 922 (y}(2)?

Have you been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions?

Have you ever renounced your United States citizenship?

Have you ever suffered any mental lllness?

Have you ever been Involuntarily committed to a mental health facility?

Have you ever had a pistol / revolver / semi-automatic rifle license revoked?

Are you ;lrn-der any firearms suspension or ineligibility order Issued pursuant to the provisions of section 530.1.4 of the
_criminal procedure law or section eight hundred forty-two-a of the family court act?

Have you had a guardian appointed for you pursuant to any provisicn of state law, based on a determination that as a result
of marked subnormal intelligence, mental lliness, Incapacity, condition or disease you lack the mental capacity to contract or
manage your own affairs?

Have you been convicted of Assault 3rd, Misdemeanor DWI, or Menacing 3rd within tha_ previous five years?
“THIS QUESTION ONLY APPLIES TO CARRY CONCEALED _—

Are you prohibited from possessing firearms under federal law, including having been convicted in any court of a
misdemeanor crime of domestic violence or being under indictment for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term
exceeding one year?

If the answer to any of the questions above is YES, explain here:

For applicants under fwenty-one years of age only:

Have you been honorably discharged from the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force or Coast Guard, or the
National Guard of the State of New York?




PPB-3 (Rev 08/22) New York State Police

State of New York

Pistol/Revolver License Application
Semi-Automatic Rifle License Application

Knowingly providing false information will be sufficient cause to deny this application and
constitutes a crime punishable by fine, imprisonment, or both. | am aware that the following

Photograph conditions affect any license which may be issued to me:
Of A_pp_llcant 1. Nolicense issued as a result of this application is valid in the City of New York.
Taken Within 30 Days 2. Any pistolirevolver license issued as a result of this application will be vatid only for a pistol or revolver specifically

described in the license properly issued by the licensing officer.

3. If | permanently change my address, notice of such change and my new address must be forwarded to the
Superintendent of the State Police and in Nassau County and Suffolk County, to the licensing officer of that county,
within 10 days of such change.

4. Any license issued as a result of this application is subject to revocation at any time by the licensing officer or any
judge or justice of a court of record.

Full Face Only
Jurat:
Signed and sworn to me before
This day of » 20 -
at , New York
Signature of Applicant Signature of Officer Administering balh Title of Officer

APPLICATION NOT VALID UNLESS SWORN

Fingerprints submitted electronically by:

Name Rank Organization

Date Submitted

Investigation Report — All information provided by this applicant has been verified:

Name Rank Organization

Signature of Investigating Officer

This application is I:l Approved Disapproved The following restriction(s) is (are) applicable to this license:

Title and Signature of Licensing Officer

If Licensing Officer authorizes the possession of a pistol, revolver or single shot firearm(s) at the time of issue of original license, furnish the
following information:

***List handguns only, do not list semi-automatic rifles.

Pistol/Revoiver/
Manufacturer Single Shot Model Frame Only Caliber(s) Serial Number Property of

LI

Duplicate of this application must be filed with the Superintendent of State Police within 10 days of issuance as required by Penal Law Section
400.00 SUBD.5.

This form is approved by Superintendent of the State Police as required by Penal Law section 400.00, SUBD. 3.



PPB 3B {0217)

STATE OF NEW YORK

PISTOL / REVOLVER LICENSE APPLICATION FINGERPRINT FORM

INSTRUCTIONS: Print or type in black ink only

Last Name

First Name

Date of Birth — MM DD YYYY

Suffix

WY Deivar's Licensa

(or N

Y Non-Driver 1D

No.

1. RIGHT THUMB

2. RIGHT FOREFINGER

3. RIGHT MIDDLE FINGER

4. RIGHT RING FINGER

5. RIGHT LITTLE FINGER

6. LEFT THUMB

7. LEFT FOREFINGER

8. LEFT MIDDLE FINGER

9. LEFT RING FINGER

10. LEFT LITTLE FINGER

PLAIN IMPRESSIONS TAKEN SIMULTANEOUSLY

LEFT FOUR FINGERS RIGHT FOUR FINGERS
THUMBS TAKEN TOGETHER
IMPRESSIONS
TAKEN BY: NAME RANK SHIELD DATE

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE AND ADDRESS:

Attach this form to your Pistol / Revolver License Application (PPB-3)







PPB-3 (Rev 08/22)

Complete the form In its entirety. Flelds that are not fillable must be hand written/signed.

State of New York

Pistol/Revolver License Application
Semi-Automatic Rifle License Application

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY LICENSING OFFICE

NYSID # License # County of Issue

Date of Issue Expiration Date

or with your written consent.

In accordance with the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, you are hereby notified that your Soclal Security Number Is not mandated by law. It Is
required by the Pistol Permit Bureau as part of the standard for recording Firearms. Fallure to disclose your Soclal Security Number wiil
prohibit your transaction from being recorded. The State Pollce will release your Social Security Number only for reasons required by law

Personal Information

Last Name First Name Middle Name Suffix

Street Name (Physical Address) Apt# | City State | Zip

Mailing Address (If Different than Physical) Apt# | City State | Zip

Sex: DOB: Height: ft in Weight: Hair: Eyes:

Sociat Security Number: Race: NY Driver’s License # (or Non-Driver ID}

Citizen of U.S. Primary Phone # Secondary Phone # Email Address

Employed By Current Occupation Nature of Business

Business Address Apt# | City State | Zip

| hereby apply for a Pistol/Revolver License to: (Check only one) Carry Concealed *Possess on Premises *Possess/Carry
During Employment

(*) Premise Address or Employer Name and Address must be provided below:

Employer Name (If Carry During Employment)

Address or Other Location (Street #, Street Name, Apartment Number, City, State, Zip Code})

| hereby apply for a Semi-Automatic Rifle License: {Check Yes or No)

Yeas

No

Give four character references who by their signature attest to your good moral character:

Last, First, Ml

Street Address (Street #, Name, Apartment #, City, State, Zip Code)

Signature




PPB-3 (Rev 08/22) New York State Police

State of New York

Pistol/Revolver License Application
Semi-Automatic Rifle License Application

Marital Status and Relationships-THIS SECTION ONLY APPLIES TO CARRY CONCEALED

CURRENT MARRIAGE OR RELATIONSHIP

What is the Applicant’s current relationship status?

If applicable, provide the requested information regarding the Applicant's current relationship below.

Last Name First Name M.I. Maiden Name (If Applicable} DoOB
Phone Number
Do minors reside within the residence? Yes No If, yes: Part Time Full Time

ADULTS RESIDING IN HOME, INCLUDING ADULT CHILDREN

Last Name First Name M.I. | Maiden Name (if Applicable) DOB
Phone Number

Last Name First Name M.l Maiden Name (If Applicable) DoB
Phone Number

Last Name First Name M.L. Maiden Name (If Applicable) DOB

Phone Number

Social Media Accounts-THIS SECTION ONLY APPLIES TO CARRY CONCEALED
' LIST FORMER AND CURRENT SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS




PPB-3 (Rev 08/22) New York State Police

State of New York

Pistol/Revolver License Application
Semi-Automatic Rifle License Application

Have you ever been arrested, summoned, charged or indicted anywhere for any offense, including sealed arrests DWI (except traffic infractions)?
Sealed arrests must be included. *Refer to Executive Law §296(16)

Yes No If yes, furnish the following information:

Arrest Date Police Agency Charge Disposition Date Disposition Court Disposition

Are you a fugitive from Justice?

Are you an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance as defined In section 21 U.S.C. 8027

Are you an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States?

Are you an allen admitted to the United States who does not qualify for the exceptions under 18 U.S.C. 922 (y}{2)?

Have you been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions?

Have you ever renounced your United States citizenship?

Have you ever suffered any mental iliness?

Have you ever been Involuntarily committed to a mental health facility?

Have you ever had a pistol / revolver / semi-automatic rifle license revoked?

Are you under any firearms suspension or ineligibility order issued pursuant to the provisions of sectlon 5§30.14 of the
criminal procedure law or section eight hundred forty-two-a of the family court act?

Have you had a guardian appointed for you pursuant to any provision of state law, based on a determination that as a result
of marked subnormal intelligence, mental iliness, incapacity, condition or disease you lack the mental capacity to contract or
manage your own affairs?

Have you been convicted of Assault 3rd, Misdemeanor DWI, or Menacing 3rd within the previous five years?
*THIS QUESTION ONLY APPLIES TO CARRY CONCEALED

Are you prohibited from possessing firearms under federal Iaw, Including having been convicted in any court of a
misdemeanor crime of domestic violence or being under indictment for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term
exceeding one year?

If the answer to any of the questions above is YES, explain here:

For applicants under twenty-one years of age only:

Have you been honorably discharged from the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force or Coast Guard, or the
National Guard of the State of New York?




PPB-3 (Rev 08/22) New York State Police

State of New York

Pistol/Revolver License Application
Semi-Automatic Rifle License Application

Knowingly providing false information will be sufficient cause to deny this application and
constitutes a crime punishable by fine, imprisonment, or both. | am aware that the following

Photograph conditions affect any license which may be issued to me:
Of Applicant 1. No license issued as a result of this application is valid in the City of New York.
Taken Within 30 Days 2. Any pistolrevolver license issued as a result of this application will be valid only for a pistol o revolver specifically

described in the license properly issued by the licensing officer.

3. Ifi permanently change my address, nolice of such change and my new address must be forwarded to the
Superintendent of the State Police and in Nassau County and Suffolk County, to the licensing officer of that county,
within 10 days of such change,

4. Any license issued as a result of this application is subject to revocation at any time by the licensing officer or any
judge or justice of a court of record.

Full Face Only
Jurat:
Signed and sworn to me before
This day of , 20
at , New York
Signature of Applicant Signature of Officer Administering Oath Title of Officer

APPLICATION NOT VALID UNLESS SWORN

Fingerprints submitted electronically by:

Name Rank Organization

Date Submitted

Investigation Report - All information provided by this appticant has been verified:

Name Rank Organization

Signature of Investigating Officer

This application is Approved Disapproved The following restriction(s) is (are) applicable to this license:

Title and Signature of Licensing Officer

If Licensing Officer authorizes the possession of a pistol, revolver or single shot firearm{s) at the time of issue of original license, furnish the
following information:

***List handguns only, do not list semi-automatic rifles.

Pistol/Revolver/
Manufacturer Single Shot Model Frame Only Caliber(s) Serial Number Property of

o

Duplicate of this application must be filed with the Superintendent of State Police within 10 days of issuance as required by Penal Law Section
400.00 SUBD.5.

This form is approved by Superintendent of the State Police as required by Penal Law section 400.00, SUBD. 3.



PPE 3B (0217)

STATE OF NEW YORK
PISTOL / REVOLVER LICENSE APPLICATION FINGERPRINT FORM

INSTRUCTIONS: Print or type in black ink only

TN
First Name | | | , I | | | | | | I | | MI DaTofBi|rth-iﬁMDJYYi‘Y | NY Driver's License (or NY Non-Driver ID) No.
1. RIGHT THUMB 2. RIGHT FOREFINGER 3. RIGHT MIDDLE FINGER | 4. RIGHT RING FINGER 5. RIGHT LITTLE FINGER
8. LEFT THUMB 7. LEFT FOREFINGER 8. LEFT MIDDLE FINGER 9. LEFT RING FINGER 10. LEFT LITTLE FINGER

PLAIN IMPRESSIONS TAKEN SIMULTANEOUSLY

LEFT FOUR FINGERS RIGHT FOUR FINGERS
THUMBS TAKEN TOGETHER
IMPRESSIONS
TAKEN BY: NAME RANK SHIELD ) DATE

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE AND ADDRESS:

Altfach this form to your Pistol / Revolver License Application (PPB-3)






MONROE COUNTY PISTOL PERMIT REFERENCE

FORM 1

Name of Applicant: i DOB:
Address:
Street City/Town State Zip
Cell Phone: Home Phone: Work Phone:
Spouse /Domestic partner / Boyfriend / Girlfriend (if applicable):
Name:
Address:
Street City/Town State Zip
Cell Phone: Home Phone: Work Phone:
Character References:
Name: Years known:
Address:
Street City/Town State Zip
Cell Phone: Home Phone: Work Phone:
Name: Years known:
Address: o
Street City/Town State Zip
Cell Phone: Home Phone: Work Phone:
Name: Years known:
Address:
Street City/Town State Zip
Cell Phone: Home Phone: Work Phone:
Name: Years known:
Address:
Street City/Town State Lip
Cell Phone: Home Phone: Work Phone:







FORM 2

fﬁce of the Sheriff  rouxsade:

130 SOUTH PLYMOUTH AVENUE, ROCHESTER, NEW YORK 14614 ° PHONE (585) 7563-4178

MENTAL HYGIENE
CHECK REQUIRED FOR ALL
PISTOL PERMIT APPLICANTS

State of New York
Department of Mental Hygiene
44 Holland Avenue

Albany, New York 12225

In order that we may comply with the legislation on the issuance of pistol permits, we
would appreciate information concerning the person listed below:

Name: o

Alias/Maiden Name:

Address:

Sex: Date of Birth: _

Social Security #:

Permit #:

Thank you for your cooperation.

Sincerely,

Todd K. Baxter
Monroe County Sheriff

“ONE TEAM”
www. MONROECOUNTYSHERIFF.INFO







FORM 3

®) ffice of the Sheriff  rodwx sader

SHERIFF
Monroe County

130 SOUTH PLYMOUTH AVENUE, ROCHESTER, NEW YORK 14614 @ PHONE (585} 753-4178
Dear Pistol Permit Applicant:

\f you take any medication for anxiely, depression, bi-polar disorder, post traumaltic stress
disorder, etc or have been to counseling or seen a Psychiatrist or Psychologist for any
reason, You must complete the attached Authorization for Release of Personal
Information. This will prevent any further delays in processing your application. {Being on
medication or receiving Mental Health services is NOT an automatic dismissal)

Note: Please leave the expiration date blank. The investigating depuly will fill it in upon
contacting your prescribing MD or counselor. (See Form 4, item # 3)

CONTACT INFORMATION:
Prescribing MD, Counselor, Psychiatrist, or Psychologist etc,

Name/Title

Address

Fax Number ( ) Phone Number( )

Name/Title

Address

Fax Number{ ) Phone Number( )

Name/Title .

Address

Fax Number ( ) Phone Number ( )

“ONE TEAM"

www MONROECOUNTYSHERIFF.INFO






FORM 4

{Page 10f2)

Todd K. Baxter
SHERIFF

130 SOUTH PLYMOUTH AVENUE, ROCHESTER, NEW YORK 14614 @ PHONE (585) 753-4178

MEDICAL RELEASE FORM - Authorization for Release of Personal Information
PAGE10of2

To Whom It May Concern:

I , do hereby authorize the release, review and full
d:sclosure of all records, or any part thereof, concerning myself, to any duly authorized
agent of Monroe County Sheriff's Office, whether the said record are public, private or
confidential in nature.

The purpose of this authorization is to give consent for full and complete disclosure of the
records of any; educational institutions; public utility companies; Armed Forces of the
United States, or any country or any territory, or in the reserve forces of the National
Guard; medical, psychological and psychiatric reports of consultation, treatment and
evaluation at or any hospital, clinic, private practitioner and the U.S. Veteran's
Administration.

Federal HIPAA Compliance Authorjzation
1. Purpose : Pistol permit application submitted to the Monroe County Sheriff's Office.

2. Time Frame and authorization needed: any and all pertinent and up to date medical
records.

3. To be completed by Deputy - Date of expiration : / ./

4. The candidate has the right to revoke the authorization in writing. The candidate
must be aware that the potential for information disclosed pursuant to this
authorization to be subject to re-disclosure by the recipient and no longer protected
under this ruie.

Employment and pre-employment records, including salary records, background reports,
polygraph test questions, answers and reports, pre-employment and promotional
examinations; records of compliant, arrest, trial and/or convictions for alleged violations of
law, including criminal and/or traffic records and records of complaints of civil nature made
by me or against me, wherever located, including the records and recollections of any
attorney at law or counsel, whether representing me or another person in any case in
which | have been a party or had an interest.

"One Team"'

wWww . MONROECOUNTYSHERIFF.INFO



FORM 4

{Page 2ol 2)

MEDICAL RELEASE FORM - Authorization for Release of Personal Information
PAGE 2 of 2

It is my specific intent to provide access to personal information and to release copies and
abstracts however personal or confidential they may appear to be. The sources of
information specifically enumerated herein are for iliustrative purposes only and such
enumeration shall not be used to deny access to any records not specifically identified
herein. The reason for this authorization is to provide full and free access to the
background and history of personal life for the specific purpose of conducting a
background investigation, which may provide pertinent data for the Monroe County
Sheriffs Office to consider in determining my suitability for a pistol permit in Monroe
County.

In any event my application is disapproved, the sources of any confidential information will
not be revealed to me. | agree to indemnity and hold harmless the organization and the
person to whom this request is presented as well as their agents and employees from and
against all claims, damages, losses and request expenses, including reasonable attorney
fees, arising out of or by reason of complying with this request.

| have read and fully understand the contents of the “Authorization for Release of Personal
Information”

DOB / / Social Security Number - -

Dated { / Applicant's Signature

On this day of . 20 . Before me, the subscriber
came.

known {o me, and known to me to be the
person described in the foregoing instrument and who executed the same and (s)he duly
acknowledged the {s)he executed the same.

Notary Pubtic / Commissioner of Deeds

+*Failure to provide all medical records may result in disqualification of the applicanteees



Pistol Permit APPLICANT Questionnaire

Please Print iIn BLACK INK

Applicant’s Name:

Maiden Name: (If applicable)

FORM 5
Pagelof 3

DOB: (Date of Birth)

Phone Number:

*ALL QUESTIONS MUST HAVE A DETAILED RESPONSE AND BE ANSWERED TRUTHFULLY UNDER THE PENALTY OF PERJURY*

What is your current address?

Street City/Town State Zip
How long have you lived at the address listed above? Y (Years) M (Months)
*“*If you have lived at the above address for less than three years please list previous address**
Previous address?
Street City/Town State Zip
How long did you live at the previous address? Y (Years) M (Months}
Who resides with you? LIST ALL
Name ) DOB Cell Phone MName "DOB Cell Phone
Name DOB Cell Phone Name DOB Cell Phone
Marital Status: O Married 0O Single [ Divorced O Widow(ery 0O Dating O Other
Name of Significant Other: DOB: Phone Number:
*Address if different from yours: ey
Street City/Town State Zip
How long have you been with your significant other? Y (Years) M (Months)
Do you have children with your significant other? YES INO
*If yes list all:
Name DOB Cell Phone Name DOB Cell Phone
Name DOB Cell Phone Name DOB Cell Phone
Do you have a previous significant relationship? YES NO
*If yes list:
Name DOB Cell Phone Street City/Town State Zip
Do you have children with your previous significant other? YES NO
*If yes list all:
Name DOB Cell Phone Name DOB Cell Phone
Name DOB Cell Phone Name DOB Cell Phone
Are you a US Citizen? YES O

NOTE: if not a US citizen, the applicant must provide a copy of their passport, green card and NYS Driver’s License,




CONTINUED Pistol Permit APPLICANT Questionnaire FORM 5
Page2of3
Describe why you are applying for a pistol permit?
Do you own any long guns, bows, shot guns, etc.? S INO
If yes, where do you store them? In home? Location: _
Outside of home:
Street City/Town State Zip
Please explain in detail any and all firearm training and/or experience you have.
Have you participated in a firearms safety course? YES |NO
If yes, where and please provide a copy of completion certificate.
Have you ever been interviewed by any police officer, sheriff deputy, or any other Law Enforcement official in s 0
relationship to any incident OR crime? (if so, state when, where, and the circumstance why you were questioned):
*exclude traffic summons but include domestic situations, traffic misdemeanors, and all other contacts*
Have you ever been terminated from employment (if so, provide contact information from the terminating [YES INO

employer and the reason for your termination):

Have you ever been named as a respondent/petitioner in an Order of Protection (if so, provide the court of ]YES
issuance, date of issue, and the circumstances surrounding the Order of Protection):

[NO

Do you consume alcohol (if so, provide the type of alcoholic drink you consume, and how often you consume :lYES

NO
alcohol):
Has drinking alcohol ever been a problem for you (if so, state in detail the extent of your alcohol related YES NO
problem and what steps you have done to correct that problem):
Have you ever used or abused any illegal drugs of any type. (if so, provide the name of the illegal drug m[
date of last use. [YES (NO

*IF YOU ANSWER YES TO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING 4 QUESTIONS, YOU MUST FILL OUT MEDICAL RELEASE FORMS (FORM 3 & 4)*

Have you ever received drug or alcohol counseling (if so, state when, where, and the contact information of the g NO
counseling facility):

Do you currently take ANY medication for anxiety, depression, bi-polar disorder, etc.? (if so, state in detail what S INO
medication(s) you are taking, the reason for the medication, and how long you have been taking the medication.

In addition, you are required to provide the Prescribing MD and their contact information):

Have you EVER received counseling/psychological treatment for any reason (if so, state in detail the nature, I_'YES NO

location, and treatment outcome along with contact information of the MD or Therapist):




CONTINUED Pistol Permit APPLICANT Questionnaire _ FORM 5

Page3of 3
Has prescription medication ever been a problem for you? (if so, state in detail the extent of the issue, dates YES O
of when you were on the medication, whether or not you are still on the medication and contact information
of the MD or Therapist who prescribed the medication):
What do you do to handle stress?
Is your spouse, significant other, or roommate aware that you applied for a permit? YES INO
Does the person with whom you have a child in common aware you applied for a permit? YES INO
Are you a veteran of the Armed Forces? YES INO

Which branch?
*If yes, please provide a copy of your DD-214

Use the remaining spaces to add anything else that we have not already covered that you feel is important for the investigating Deputy to be
aware of,

*#*#4x ATTACH ADDITIONAL PAPER IF MORE SPACE NEEDED**#**#*

Verification by Subscription and Notice

Under Penal Law Section 210.45

1t is a crime, punishable as a class A misdemeanor under the laws of the State of New York, for a person, in and by written instrument, fo knowingly
make a false statement, or to make a statement which such person does not believe to be frue,

Affirmed under the penalty of perjury this Day of 20

Applicant’s Signature

DO NOT WITE IN THIS AREA: Section to be completed by Investigating Deputy
Investigating Deputy: IBM: CR#

Attempts to contact applicant:

Date: Time:
Date: Time:
Date: Time:

Date of Interview: Time:







Office of the County Clerk

Monroe County, New York
Ms. Jamie L. Romeo Mr. Thaddeus I. Mack
County Clerk Deputy County Clerk

CERTIFICATION OF COMPLETION OF TRAINING

(Only reguired when applying for a Carry Concealed Permit)

Applicant’s Full Name:

Applicant’s Address:

Applicant’s Date of Birth:

Certification of In-Person Training

I, , hereby certify, under penalty of perjury, that the following
[Print Name]

information is true and accurate:

1. I am a Duly Authorized Instructor, as that term is defined in New York State Penal Law §
265.00(19), approved by the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services and
New York State Police to instruct the concealed carry firearms safety training.

2. The above-listed applicant has completed the following in-person live firearms safety
course(s) conducted by me (choose all that apply):

(a) A minimum of sixteen (16) hours of in-person live curriculum that meets or
exceeds the requirements set forth in New York State Penal Law §
400.00(19) and the “Minimum Standards For New York State Concealed
Carry Firearm Safety Training” issued on August 23, 2022, as amended or
updated from time to time.

(b) A minimum of two (2) hours of a live-fire range training course that meets or
exceeds the requirements set forth in New York State Penal Law § 400.00(19)
and the “Minimum Standards For New York State Concealed Carry Firearm
Safety Training” issued on August 23, 2022, as amended or updated from time
to time.

101 County Office Building * 39 West Main Street » Rochester, New York
14614 www.monroecounty.gov/pistols



Office of the County Clerk

Monroe County, New York

Ms. Jamie L. Romeo Mr. Thaddeus 1. Mack
County Clerk Deputy County Clerk

3. (IfSection 2(a) is checked) | have adminstered a written proficiency test to the above-listed
applicant that evaluates his/her/their understanding of the requirements set forth in New
York State Penal Law § 400.00(19) and the “Minimum Standards For New York State
Concealed Carry Firearm Safety Training” issued on August 23, 2022, as amended or
updated from time to time. The above-listed applicant achieved a minimum correct answer
score of 80% on his/her/their written proficiency test.

4. I understand that this certification will be provided to and relied upon by the Monroe
County Court to demonstrate the above-listed applicant’s compliance with New York State
Penal Law § 400.00(19).

Duly Authorized Instructor’s Signature Date

Print Name of Instructor:

State of i)
)58
County of ~ )
On the day of in the year , before me, the undersigned notary public,
personally appeared , personally known to me or proved to me on

the basis of satisfactory evidence to be the individual(s) whose name(s) is (are) subscribed to the
within instrument and acknowledged to me that he/she/they executed the same in his/her/their
capacity(ies), and that by his/her/their signature(s) on the instrument, the individual(s), or the
person upon behalf of which the individual(s) acted, executed the instrument.

Notary Public

101 County Office Building * 39 West Main Street » Rochester, New York 14614
www.monroecounty.gov/pistols



NYS Firearms License Request for Public Records Exemption
Pursuant to section 400.00 (5} (b) of the NYS Penal Law

[ am: an applicant for a firearms license [ ] currently licensed to possess a firearm in NYS
Name _ Date of Birth

Address City State
Firearms License # (if applicable) Date Issued

Licensing Authority / County of Issuance or Application

I hereby request that any information concerning my firearms license application or firearms
license not be a public record. The grounds for which I believe my information should NOT be
publicly disclosed are as follows: (check all that are applicable)

1. My life or safety may be endangered by disclosure because:

A. I 'am an active or retired police officer, peace officer, probation officer, parole officer, or
corrections officer;

B. I am a protected person under a currently valid order of protection;

C I am or was a witness in a criminal proceeding involving a criminal charge;

D. 1 am participating or previousty participated as a juror in a criminal proceeding, or am or was a
member of a grand jury;

2. My life or safety or that of my spouse, domestic partner or household member may be endangered by
disclosure for some other reason explained below: (Must be explained in item 5 below)

3. Iam a spouse, domestic partoer or household member of a person identified in A, B, C or D of question 1,

(Please check any that apply)
A B C D

4. I have reason to believe that I may be subject to unwarranted harassment upon disclosure.

5. (Please provide any additional supportive information as necessary)

I understand that false statements made herein are punishable as a class A misdemeanor. I further
understand that upon discovery that I knowingly provided any false information, I may be subject
to criminal penalties and that this request for an exemption shall become null and void.

Signature - Date



Request for Public Records Exemption
AKA Opt Out Form

According to NYS Penal Law (Section 400.00 (5) (b)), the name and address of Pistol Permit Holders is considered
public information. Therefore, the NYSAFE Act created a process to protect the privacy of pistol license holders to
exempt this information from Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) requests.

The form is attached for you to complete if you so choose. You are required to check one of the boxes #1-4 or the
form will be returned to you for completion.

You can turn this form in with your application or you can drop it off or mail it to our office (39 West Main Street,
Room 101, Rochester, NY 14614) at any time. Once you have submitted this form, you do NOT need to re-new this
request.

Because you are an applicant and have not yet received your Firearms License Number (Carry number) or
your date of issue, you can leave those portions blank.

For more information or FAO. please visit our website at www.monroecountv.eov/nistols. 3



