Office of the County Clerk

MONROE COUNTY, NEW YORK

Jamie Romeo
County Clerk

Dear Pistol Permit Applicant:

The Monroe County Clerk’s Office is proud to be the lead administrative agency that
provides a pass-through for pistol permit applications as they make their way through the
authorization process. Due to the number of agencies involved and the tasks required of
each of these agencies, according to state and federal law, the processing of a pistol
permit application can take several months.

The County Clerk’s Office facilitates the transfer of the pistol permit file to the Monroe
County Sheriff's Office for suburban residents and the Rochester Police Department for City
residents. Law Enforcement will conduct a thorough investigation, interview references, and
receive comment from the State Department of Mental Hygiene and the State Department
of Criminal Justice Services. Thereafter, a recommendation is made to the Court for
approval or denial.

Once the County Clerk’'s Office receives the pistol permit file from the Law
Enforcement agency, it is forwarded to a Monroe County Court Judge who will then make
a final decision on the applications. Applicants may receive notice of approval or disapproval
from a Judge by mail.

Due to the high volume of applications and with the majority of the pistol permit
process taking place outside the County Clerk’s Office purview, we ask that you wait at
least 9 months from the date of your application to request a status update from our
Pistol Permit Division. Given the State Privacy Laws, staff cannot provide a status or
information about an individual’s application over the phone or email. Those questions must
be posed in-person at the Monroe County Clerk’s Office (39 W Main Street, 15t Floor,
Rochester 14614).

Finally, if you move at any point during the application process, you must visit the
Clerk’s Office to update your file. This is imperative as Law Enforcement or the Court may
attempt to contact you during the process.

If you have any additional questions related to Pistol Permits, please contact the
Pistol Permit Division in the Monroe County Clerk’s Office at 585-753-1642 or email
MCPistols@MonroeCounty.gov.

Sincerely,
Jamie Romeo
Monroe County Clerk

101 County Office Building * 39 West Main Street * Rochester, New York 14614
(585) 753-1642 « fax: (585) 753-1650 « www.monroecounty.gove mcclerk@monroecounty.gov






MONROE COUNTY PISTOL PERMIT APPLICATION
REQUIREMENTS, INSTRUCTIONS AND ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

REQUIREMENTS:

An applicant must be at least 21 years of age to apply for a pistol permit, unless the applicant has been
honorably discharged from the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force or Coast Guard or the
National Guard of the State of New York.

An applicant must be a Monroe County resident for at least 6 months.

An applicant must provide 4 character references that must be Monroe County residents that have known
you for at least 3 years. These references may not be law enforcement, family members or anyone who
may be included as a member of your household. This also includes boyfriend/girlfriend and husband/wife.

If you have lived in Monroe County for less than 3 years, you must provide 4 character references from
Monroe County residents who have known you for as long as you have lived here; and 3 additional notarized
references from persons who live in the state or county where you previously lived. Please contact the
Monroe County Clerk’s Office to obtain the appropriate Proof of Character forms.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR CITY RESIDENTS (individuals living within the City limits)

1. Complete applications and all enclosed forms.

e Printlegibly in black ink.

e On the applications, start with your last name in the gray shaded area and work down.

¢ Fill out both copies of the permit application (Pistol/Revolver License Application).

Both pages must be an original and we cannot accept copies. NOTE: your references must sign
both copies.

DO NOT sign the application until you are in front of a clerk. Notaries are available in our office.
Fill out one Applicant & Reference Contact Information form

Fill out one Department of Mental Hygiene inquiry

Fill out one Rochester Police Department’s Applicant Questionnaire

Fill out one HIPAA Authorization (if necessary)

OPTIONAL: fill out Request for Public Records Exemption form

2. Obtain fingerprints from the Rochester Police Department. The City of Rochester will accept pistol
permit applications by appointment only, Monday through Friday from 1:00pm - 2:30 pm. To schedule
your appointment, please call (585) 428-7493. Please note that the application must be completely
filled out when you bring it to your appointment at the RPD. A valid photo ID with signature is
required for identification as well as $125.00 fee by cash, Postal Money Order or Bank Check payable
to the “City Treasurer”.

Rochester Police Department Hours:
Public Safety Building Monday-Friday
185 Exchange Boulevard 1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Rochester, NY 14614

3. Make an appointment to turn in your application with the Monroe County Clerk’s Office. Go to
our website: https://www?2.monroecounty.gov/clerk-pistolpermits.php to schedule your appointment.
Bring the following with you:

e completed application packet with original documents - Copies will NOT be accepted
e $17.00 (cash, check or charge) payable to the Monroe County Clerk - This fee includes the cost
of your permit and photos.


https://www2.monroecounty.gov/clerk-pistolpermits.php

e Your Driver’s License
At this point, the Monroe County Clerk’s office will take in your application, take your photo and obtain

your electronic signature and thumbprint for your permit. We can no longer accept pre-printed
photos.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Application fees are not refundable.

If you elect to list a gun on your permit application, an original bill of sale from a Federal Firearms Licensed
(FLL) Dealer must accompany the application. This must be on the dealer’s letterhead and list the address,
phone number, FFL number, NYS Drivers License number, and a description of the firearm. Per New York
State SAFE Act Law: Effective 2013, ALL private firearms sales/transfers in New York require a background
check of the buyer/transferee. Sales or transfers to immediate family members (i.e., spouses, domestic
partners, children, and stepchildren) are exempt from this provision. For more information, please visit
https://safeact.ny.gov/ or call 1-855-LAW-GUNS.

Unregistered pistols in your possession or out-of-state pistols must be turned in to law enforcement officials
until your permit is issued. If you have an unregistered pistol, please call 911 and request to meet with an
officer to surrender the pistol into their custody. You will be given a receipt for the pistol(s), which must be
included with your application. You will also need to include a notarized letter explaining how the pistol was
obtained and whether it was legally registered elsewhere.

It is not required that you acquire a gun before you apply for a pistol permit.
WHAT DOES ARREST MEAN?

Your pistol permit application specifically states: “Have you ever been arrested, summoned, charged or
indicted anywhere for any offense, including DWI (except traffic infractions)?”

You must state all arrests regardless of whether or not you were convicted. Sealed charges must also be listed.

What does arrest mean?

e You were given an appearance ticket by a police officer to appear before a judge for anything from a
town/village ordinance on up to a felony.

e You were handcuffed and taken to jail.

e You were fingerprinted and photographed for a criminal matter of DWI by the police.

e A warrant for an arrest was issued for you and you either were directed to turn yourself into a police
department or appear before a judge.

e You were directed by a police officer to appear before a judge.

Any omission of fact or any false statement will be sufficient cause to deny this application and constitutes a
crime punishable by fine, imprisonment or both.

If you appeared in Court, you must provide an official disposition from the Court(s) with your application. We
need to know the final outcome of your case(s).

Even if the Court no longer has record of the outcome of your case(s) because itis a very old case(s) or they
have destroyed the record or your case(s) were sealed; you still have a criminal record and all New York State
Police Departments have full access to this information, even if it was an out-of-state arrest.

The term “sealed record” means that at the time of your last court appearance it was the Judge’s decision to
seal the case so only authorized persons can view the outcome. Most courts and police departments will not
give you this information. It will appear as “no record” when you request a criminal record check at a police
department or request dispositions from the courts. This does not mean that you were not arrested or that


https://safeact.ny.gov/

you don’t have a criminal record.

You must state all arrests even if you do not remember the dates or dispositions, even if you have had
multiple arrests over several years. If you appeared before the Judge, you must state it.

REMEMBER: IF YOU DO NOT STATE ALL ARRESTS ON YOUR APPLICATION, YOUR APPLICATION
MAY BE TERMINATED FROM FURTHER PROCESSING.

APPLICATION FAQ’S

The application asks for a NYSID and License Number. What is that?
The NYSID, License Number and Date of Issue are all for internal use only. Start the application at the box for
“Last Name”.

The application asks for arrest information. Where do I get this information?
Contact the police agency where the incident occurred (ie. NYS Police, Sheriff’'s Department, Police Department,
etc).

The application asks me to check a box for a certain type of license. What should I choose?
There are three options to choose from: Carry Concealed, Possess on Premises and Possess/Carry During
Employment. Carry Concealed is the most commonly chosen and gives you the least amount of
restrictions. Possess on Premises means that a householder/business owner can have a firearm in his/her
dwelling/business but cannot carry a firearm anywhere else. Possess/Carry During Employment is used
in very limited instances and will only allow you to carry your firearm for work purposes.

Do you take photos in the office?
Photos must be taken by the County Clerk’s office in order to be used on your pistol permit.

Does the form need to be notarized before I come in?
Please wait until you are in front of a Clerk to sign your application.

I do not have any medical issues (anxiety, depression, bi-polar disorder, etc.) Do I need to fill out the
Release of Medical Information Form?
Only if you answered YES to the last questions on the Questionnaire.

Who can serve as a character reference for my application?
Your references must live in Monroe County and must have known you for at least 3 years. They cannot be your
relative (spouse, uncle, brother-in-law, etc.) and cannot be any member of active or retired law enforcement.

Can I have my fingerprints done somewhere else or at a police sub-station?
Your fingerprints MUST be done at the location instructed in your application packet. You cannot go to another
police station or sub-station for fingerprints. Likewise, if you have already been fingerprinted for a job or any
another reason, you still must be fingerprinted again for your pistol permit.

I've moved and I've already turned in my application. Do I need to notify you?
Yes. Once you move you MUST notify the Clerk’s office. This can only be done by visiting our office in person
with identification showing your new address. If an agency attempts to contact you by mail and gets no response
because you’ve moved, they can deny your application or seriously delay the process.

Do I need to take a firearms safety course in order to apply?
Monroe County does not require you to take a firearms safety course as a requirement for application. There is
information about available courses in this packet and on the County Clerk’s website.

How does the pistol permit process work?
The Clerk’s Office facilitates the transfer of the permit file to the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office for suburban
residents and the Rochester Police Department for city residents. Law enforcement will conduct a thorough



investigation on the applicant and will also receive comment from the State Department of Mental Hygiene and
the State Department of Criminal Justice Services, both of which are located in Albany. The Captain assigned to
the process will make a recommendation to the Court for approval or denial. Just because your references
were called or the police agency says that your investigation is complete, does NOT mean that your permit is
ready.

Once the police agency has completed their investigation and returned your application to the Clerk’s Office, it is
forwarded to a Monroe County Court Judge who will then make a final decision. Applicants might receive notice
of approval or disapproval from a Judge by mail. It is possible that you will not receive any contact during the
application process until you receive your permit.

As soon as the County Clerk’s Office receives the approved files back from the Court, permit cards are printed
and mailed out to the address on file.

Request for Public Records Exemption
AKA Opt Out Form

According to NYS Penal Law (Section 400.00 (5)(b)), the name and address of Pistol Permit Holders is
considered public information. Therefore, the NYSAFE Act created a process to protect the privacy of pistol
permit holders to exempt this information from Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) requests.

The form is attached for you to complete if you so choose. You are required to check one of the boxes #1-4
or the form will be returned to you for completion.

You can turn this form in with your application or you can drop it off or mail it to our office (39 West Main
Street, Room 101, Rochester, NY 14614) at any time. Once you have submitted this form, you do NOT need to
re-new this request.

Because you are an applicant and have not yet received your Firearms License Number (Carry
number) or your date of issue, you can leave that portion blank when you turn in your opt-out form.



NYS Firearms License Request for Public Records Exemption
Pursuant to section 400.00 (5) (b) of the NYS Penal Law

lam: [ ] anapplicant for a firearms license [ ] currently licensed to possess a firearm in NYS

Name Date of Birth
Address City State
Firearms License # (if applicable) Date Issued

Licensing Authority / County of Issuance or Application

I hereby request that any information concerning my firearms license application or firearms
license not be a public record. The grounds for which I believe my information should NOT be
publicly disclosed are as follows: (check all that are applicable)

[ 1 1. My life or safety may be endangered by disclosure because:

[ ] A I am an active or retired police officer, peace officer, probation officer, parole officer, or
corrections officer;

[ 1] B. | am a protected person under a currently valid order of protection;
[ 1] Cc | am or was a witness in a criminal proceeding involving a criminal charge;
[ 1] D. | am participating or previously participated as a juror in a criminal proceeding, or am or was a

member of a grand jury;

[ 1 2. My life or safety or that of my spouse, domestic partner or household member may be endangered by
disclosure for some other reason explained below: (Must be explained in item 5 below)

[ 1 3. lI'amaspouse, domestic partner or household member of a person identified in A, B, C or D of question 1.
(Please check any that apply)
A B C D

[ 1 4. 1have reason to believe that | may be subject to unwarranted harassment upon disclosure.

5. (Please provide any additional supportive information as necessary)

I understand that false statements made herein are punishable as a class A misdemeanor. | further
understand that upon discovery that | knowingly provided any false information, I may be subject
to criminal penalties and that this request for an exemption shall become null and void.

Signature Date






INSTRUCTIONS: Print or type in black ink only

NYSID Number | | | | | | | | PPB 3 (Rev. 06/17) County of Issue

License Number

STATE OF NEW YORK

Code

Month D Y irati
Date of Issue °|m Tv e|af PISTOL /REVOLVER LICENSE APPLICATION | Expiration Date

Month Day

Year

In accordance with the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, you are hereby notified that your Social Security Number is not mandated by law. It is required by the

Pistol Permit Bureau as part of the standard for recording Firearms. Failure to disclose your Social Security Number will prohibit your transaction from being

recorded. The State Police will release your Social Security Number only for reasons required by law or with your written consent.

T L P L L AN
First Name ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ | ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ Ml | Date of Tirth —‘ MM iDD Y\|(YY | | NY Driver’s License (or NY Non-Driver ID) No.
Gender Social Securi Race Height Weight Eyes Hair Citizen of U.S.A
ft i
‘ n O YES O NO

Physical Address (Street number, street name, apartment number, city, state, zip code)

Mailing Address (If different from physical address)

Primary Phone Number Secondary Phone Number Email Address

Employed By Present Occupation Nature of Business

Business Address (Street number, street name, apartment number, city, state, zip code)

| hereby apply for a Pistol / Revolver License to: (Check only one) [[] Carry Concealed [ ] * Possess on Premises [] * Possess / Carry During Employment

(* ) Premise Address or Employer Name and Address must be provided below:

Employer Name (If Carry During Employment) Address or Other Location (Street number, street name, apartment number, city, state, zip code)

A license is required for the following reasons:

Give four character references who by their signature attest to your good moral character.
Last, First, Ml Street Address, (Street number, street name, apartment number, city, state, zip code)

Signature

Have you ever been arrested, summoned, charged or indicted anywhere for any offense, including DWI (except traffic infractions)? [] YES

If Yes, furnish the following information:

O No

Arrest Date Police Agency Charge Disposition Date Disposition Court

Disposition

Are you a fugitive from justice? |:| YES |:| NO
Are you an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance as defined in section 21 U.S.C. 802? |:| YES |:| NO
Are you an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States? 1 yvyes [ No
Are you an alien admitted to the United States who does not qualify for the exceptions under 18 U.S.C. 922 (y)(2)? |:| YES |:| NO
Have you been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions? |:| YES |:| NO
Have you ever renounced your United States citizenship? |:| YES |:| NO
Have you ever suffered any mental illness? |:| YES |:| NO
Have you ever been involuntarily committed to a mental health facility? |:| YES |:| NO
Have you ever had a pistol / revolver license revoked? |:| YES |:| NO
Are you under any firearms suspension or ineligibility order issued pursuant to the provisions of section 530.14 of the I:l YES I:l NO
criminal procedure law or section eight hundred forty-two-a of the family court act?

Have you had a guardian appointed for you pursuant to any provision of state law, based on a determination that as a result

of marked subnormal intelligence, mental iliness, incapacity, condition or disease you lack the mental capacity to contract or |:| YES |:| NO
manage your own affairs?

Are you aware of any good cause for the denial of the license? |:| YES |:| NO
Are you prohibited from possessing firearms under federal law, including having been convicted in any court of a

misdemeanor crime of domestic violence or being under indictment for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term |:| YES |:| NO

exceeding one year?

If the answer to any of the questions above is YES, explain here:




For applicants under twenty-one years of age only:

Have you been honorably discharged from the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force or Coast Guard, or the |:| YES |:| NO
National Guard of the State of New York?

Knowingly providing false information will be sufficient cause to deny this application and

constitutes a crime punishable by fine, imprisonment, or both. | am aware that the following
Photograph conditions affect any license which may be issued to me:
Of Applicant 1. Nolicense issued as a result of this application is valid in the City of New York.
Taken Within 30 Days 2. Any license issued as a result of this application will be valid only for a pistol or revolver specifically described in the

license properly issued by the licensing officer.

3. If I permanently change my address, notice of such change and my new address must be forwarded to the
Superintendent of the State Police and in Nassau County and Suffolk County, to the licensing officer of that county,
within 10 days of such change.

4.  Any license issued as a result of this application is subject to revocation at any time by the licensing officer or any
judge or justice of a court of record.

Full Face Only
Jurat:
Signed and sworn to before me
This day of , 20
at , New York
Signature of Applicant Signature of Officer Administering Oath Title of Officer

APPLICATION NOT VALID UNLESS SWORN

Fingerprints submitted electronically by:

Name Rank Organization

Date Submitted

Investigation Report — All information provided by this applicant has been verified:

Name Rank Organization

Signature of Investigating Officer

This application is Approved — Disapproved (Strike out one) The following restriction(s) is (are) applicable to this license:

Title and Signature of Licensing Officer

If Licensing Officer authorizes the possession of a pistol, revolver or single shot firearm(s) at the time of issue of original license,
furnish the following information:

Pistol / Revolver / Frame

Single Shot Model only Caliber(s) Serial Number Property Of

O
0
0
0

Manufacturer

Duplicate of this application must be filed with the Superintendent of State Police within 10 days of issuance as required by Penal Law Section 400.00 SUBD.5.
This form is approved by Superintendent of the State Police as required by Penal Law section 400.00, SUBD. 3.



PPB 3B (02/17)

STATE OF NEW YORK

PISTOL / REVOLVER LICENSE APPLICATION FINGERPRINT FORM

INSTRUCTIONS: Print or type in black ink only

Last Name

Suffix

First Name

MI | Date of Birth— MM DD YYYY

NY Driver’s License

(or N

'Y Non-Driver ID

) No.

1. RIGHT THUMB

2. RIGHT FOREFINGER

3. RIGHT MIDDLE FINGER

4. RIGHT RING FINGER

5. RIGHT LITTLE FINGER

6. LEFT THUMB

7. LEFT FOREFINGER

8. LEFT MIDDLE FINGER

9. LEFT RING FINGER

10. LEFT LITTLE FINGER

PLAIN IMPRESSIONS TAKEN SIMULTANEOUSLY

LEFT FOUR FINGERS

THUMBS TAKEN TOGETHER

RIGHT FOUR FINGERS

IMPRESSIONS
TAKEN BY:

NAME

RANK

SHIELD

DATE

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE AND ADDRESS:

Attach this form to your Pistol / Revolver License Application (PPB-3)







INSTRUCTIONS: Print or type in black ink only

NYSID Number | | | | | | | | PPB 3 (Rev. 06/17) County of Issue

License Number

STATE OF NEW YORK

Code

Month D Y irati
Date of Issue °|m Tv e|af PISTOL /REVOLVER LICENSE APPLICATION | Expiration Date

Month Day

Year

In accordance with the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, you are hereby notified that your Social Security Number is not mandated by law. It is required by the

Pistol Permit Bureau as part of the standard for recording Firearms. Failure to disclose your Social Security Number will prohibit your transaction from being

recorded. The State Police will release your Social Security Number only for reasons required by law or with your written consent.

T L P L L AN
First Name ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ | ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ Ml | Date of Tirth —‘ MM iDD Y\|(YY | | NY Driver’s License (or NY Non-Driver ID) No.
Gender Social Securi Race Height Weight Eyes Hair Citizen of U.S.A
ft i
‘ n O YES O NO

Physical Address (Street number, street name, apartment number, city, state, zip code)

Mailing Address (If different from physical address)

Primary Phone Number Secondary Phone Number Email Address

Employed By Present Occupation Nature of Business

Business Address (Street number, street name, apartment number, city, state, zip code)

| hereby apply for a Pistol / Revolver License to: (Check only one) [[] Carry Concealed [ ] * Possess on Premises [] * Possess / Carry During Employment

(* ) Premise Address or Employer Name and Address must be provided below:

Employer Name (If Carry During Employment) Address or Other Location (Street number, street name, apartment number, city, state, zip code)

A license is required for the following reasons:

Give four character references who by their signature attest to your good moral character.
Last, First, Ml Street Address, (Street number, street name, apartment number, city, state, zip code)

Signature

Have you ever been arrested, summoned, charged or indicted anywhere for any offense, including DWI (except traffic infractions)? [] YES

If Yes, furnish the following information:

O No

Arrest Date Police Agency Charge Disposition Date Disposition Court

Disposition

Are you a fugitive from justice? |:| YES |:| NO
Are you an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance as defined in section 21 U.S.C. 802? |:| YES |:| NO
Are you an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States? 1 yvyes [ No
Are you an alien admitted to the United States who does not qualify for the exceptions under 18 U.S.C. 922 (y)(2)? |:| YES |:| NO
Have you been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions? |:| YES |:| NO
Have you ever renounced your United States citizenship? |:| YES |:| NO
Have you ever suffered any mental illness? |:| YES |:| NO
Have you ever been involuntarily committed to a mental health facility? |:| YES |:| NO
Have you ever had a pistol / revolver license revoked? |:| YES |:| NO
Are you under any firearms suspension or ineligibility order issued pursuant to the provisions of section 530.14 of the I:l YES I:l NO
criminal procedure law or section eight hundred forty-two-a of the family court act?

Have you had a guardian appointed for you pursuant to any provision of state law, based on a determination that as a result

of marked subnormal intelligence, mental iliness, incapacity, condition or disease you lack the mental capacity to contract or |:| YES |:| NO
manage your own affairs?

Are you aware of any good cause for the denial of the license? |:| YES |:| NO
Are you prohibited from possessing firearms under federal law, including having been convicted in any court of a

misdemeanor crime of domestic violence or being under indictment for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term |:| YES |:| NO

exceeding one year?

If the answer to any of the questions above is YES, explain here:




For applicants under twenty-one years of age only:

Have you been honorably discharged from the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force or Coast Guard, or the |:| YES |:| NO
National Guard of the State of New York?

Knowingly providing false information will be sufficient cause to deny this application and

constitutes a crime punishable by fine, imprisonment, or both. | am aware that the following
Photograph conditions affect any license which may be issued to me:
Of Applicant 1. Nolicense issued as a result of this application is valid in the City of New York.
Taken Within 30 Days 2. Any license issued as a result of this application will be valid only for a pistol or revolver specifically described in the

license properly issued by the licensing officer.

3. If I permanently change my address, notice of such change and my new address must be forwarded to the
Superintendent of the State Police and in Nassau County and Suffolk County, to the licensing officer of that county,
within 10 days of such change.

4.  Any license issued as a result of this application is subject to revocation at any time by the licensing officer or any
judge or justice of a court of record.

Full Face Only
Jurat:
Signed and sworn to before me
This day of , 20
at , New York
Signature of Applicant Signature of Officer Administering Oath Title of Officer

APPLICATION NOT VALID UNLESS SWORN

Fingerprints submitted electronically by:

Name Rank Organization

Date Submitted

Investigation Report — All information provided by this applicant has been verified:

Name Rank Organization

Signature of Investigating Officer

This application is Approved — Disapproved (Strike out one) The following restriction(s) is (are) applicable to this license:

Title and Signature of Licensing Officer

If Licensing Officer authorizes the possession of a pistol, revolver or single shot firearm(s) at the time of issue of original license,
furnish the following information:

Pistol / Revolver / Frame

Single Shot Model only Caliber(s) Serial Number Property Of

O
0
0
0

Manufacturer

Duplicate of this application must be filed with the Superintendent of State Police within 10 days of issuance as required by Penal Law Section 400.00 SUBD.5.
This form is approved by Superintendent of the State Police as required by Penal Law section 400.00, SUBD. 3.



PPB 3B (02/17)

STATE OF NEW YORK

PISTOL / REVOLVER LICENSE APPLICATION FINGERPRINT FORM

INSTRUCTIONS: Print or type in black ink only

Last Name

Suffix

First Name

MI | Date of Birth— MM DD YYYY

NY Driver’s License

(or N

'Y Non-Driver ID

) No.

1. RIGHT THUMB

2. RIGHT FOREFINGER

3. RIGHT MIDDLE FINGER

4. RIGHT RING FINGER

5. RIGHT LITTLE FINGER

6. LEFT THUMB

7. LEFT FOREFINGER

8. LEFT MIDDLE FINGER

9. LEFT RING FINGER

10. LEFT LITTLE FINGER

PLAIN IMPRESSIONS TAKEN SIMULTANEOUSLY

LEFT FOUR FINGERS

THUMBS TAKEN TOGETHER

RIGHT FOUR FINGERS

IMPRESSIONS
TAKEN BY:

NAME

RANK

SHIELD

DATE

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE AND ADDRESS:

Attach this form to your Pistol / Revolver License Application (PPB-3)







APPLICANT AND REFERENCE CONTACT INFORMATION: FORM 1

Name of Applicant DOB / /

Address

(Complete Mailing Address)
Home Phone () Cell Phone ( ) Work { )
Spouse (If applicable):

Name:

Address

Home Phone () Cell Phone { ) Work ()
Character References:

Name:

Address

Home Phone () Cell Phone () Work ()

Name:

Address

Home Phone ( )} Cell Phone { ) Work ( )

Name:

Address

Home Phone () Cell Phone ( ) Work ( )

Name:

Address

Home Phone { ) Cell Phone () Work ()






City of HOChESter La’Ron. D. Singletary

?AV Rochester Police Department Chief of Police
®

185 Exchange Boulevard, Suite 630
Rochester, New York 14614-2124
www.cityofrochester.gov/publicsafety/police/

State of New York
Department of Mental Hygiene
44 Holland Avenue

Albany, New York 12225

In order that we may comply with the legislation on the issuance of pistol permits, we
would appreciate information concerning the person listed below:

Name:

Alias/Maiden Name:

Address:

Sex: Date of Birth:

Permit#:

Thank you for your Cooperation.

Sincerely,

La’Ron D. Singletary
Chief of Police
Rochester Police Dept.
185 Exchange Blvd
Rochester, NY 14614

® Phone: 5685.428.7033 Fax: 585.428.6093 TTY: 585.428.6054 EEO/ADA Employer






Page 1 of 3

Rochester Police Department, License Investigation Unit, Pistol Permit APPLICANT Questionnaire

Applicant’s Name: DOB (Date of Birth):

List all AKA’s, ALIAS’s and other names and DOB's that you have used:

Maiden Name (If applicable): Telephone number:

**ALL QUESTIONS MUST HAVE A DETAILED RESPONSE AND BE ANSWERED TRUTHFULLY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY**

What is your current address?

How long have you lived at the address listed above? Years Months

List all parties who reside at the listed address, include DOB’s and any cellular or other telephone
information for each individual listed:

Marital Status: Married Single Divorced Widow(er)

Name of Spouse or Significant Other (includes DOB, telephone or other contact information and address
if different than yours):

How long have you been with your Spouse or Significant Other: Years Months

Do you have children with your Spouse or Significant Other (if so, list all of the children’s names, DOB’s,
telephone or other contact information and address if different than yours):

Within the past 10 years did you have a significant relationship (if so, list the name, DOB, and contact
information of that person):

Do you have children with your previous significant other (if so, list all of the children’s names, DOB’s,
telephone or other contact information):

ARE YOU A UNITED STATES CITIZEN: YES NO

IF YOU ARE NOT A UNITED STATES CITIZEN YOU MUST PROVIDE A COPY OF YOUR PASSPORT, GREEN
CARD AND VALID New York STATE DRIVES LICENSE
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Describe why you are applying for a pistol permit:

Do you currently own or possess any rifles, shotguns, long bows or cross bows, etc? YES NO

If you own any of the above, where do you store them?

Have you ever been interviewed by any police officer, sheriff’s deputy, or any Law Enforcement official
in relationship to any crime (if so, state when, where and the circumstances why you were questioned):

(Exclude Traffic Summons and Violations you are required to include domestic situations, any Traffic
misdemeanors, and all other contacts)

Have you ever been terminated from employment (if so, provide contact information from the
terminating employer and the reason for your termination):

Have you ever been named as a respondent/petitioner in an Order of Protection (if so, provide the court
of issuance, date of issue and circumstances surrounding the Order of Protection):

Have you used any illegal drugs or abused any type of prescription drugs( if so, provide the name of the
illegal drug and date of last use, you are also required to furnish the name of prescription drug you
abused, date last used and prescribing doctor ):

Do you consume alcohol (if so, provide the type of alcoholic drink you consume, and how often you
consume alcohol):

Has drinking alcohol ever been a problem for you (if so, state in detail the extent of your alcohol related
problem and what steps you have done to correct that problem):
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Have you ever received drug or alcohol counseling (if so, state when, where and the contact information
of the counseling facility):

Do you currently take ANY medication for anxiety, depression, bi-polar disorder etc (if so, state in detail
what medication(s) you are taking, the prescription number and how long you have been taking the
medication. In addition, you are required to provide the Prescribing MD contact information):

***IF YOU ANSWERED YES, YOU MUST COMPLETE A MEDICAL RELEASE FORM***

Have you EVER received counseling/psychological treatment for any reason (if so, state in detail the
nature, location, and treatment outcome and contact information of the MD or Therapist):

***IF YOU ANSWERED YES, YOU MUST COMPLETE A MEDICAL RELEASE FORM***

Has prescription medication ever been a problem for you (if so, state in detail the extent of the issue,
dates of when you were on the medication, whether or not you are still on the medication and the
contact information of the MD or Therapist who prescribed the medication):

Verification by Subscription and Notice

Under Penal Law Section 210.45

It is a crime, punishable as a class A misdemeanor under the laws of the State of New York, for a person, in and by written
instrument, to knowingly make a false statement, or to make a statement which such person does not believe to be true.

Affirmed under penalty of perjury this Day of 20

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS AREA: Section to be completed by Investigating Officer

Investigating Officer: IBM CR#

Attempts to contact applicant:

Date: Time:
Date: Time:
Date: Time:

Date of Interview: Time:







City of Rochester

&b La’Ron D. Singletary
%ﬂ Rochester Police Department Chief of Police

185 Exchange Boulevard, Suite 630
Rochester, New York 14614-2124
www.cityofrochester.gov/publicsafety/police/

MAIL COMPLETED FORM TO: Rochester Police Department
License Investigation Unit
185 Exchange Blvd.
Rochester, New York 14614

AUTHORIZATION TO RELEASE MEDICAL, PSYCHIATRIC AND SURGICAL
DATA AND PERSONAL INFORMATION

I, , do hereby authorize the release, review
and full disclosure of all records, or any part thereof, concerning myself, to any duly
authorized agent of the City of Rochester Police Department, whether the said
record(s) are public, private or confidential in nature.

The purpose of this authorization is to give consent for full and complete disclosure
of the records of any; educational institutions; public utility companies; Armed
Forces of the United States, or any country or any territory, or in the reserve forces of
the National Guard; medical, psychological and psychiatric reports of consultation,
treatment and evaluation at or any hospital, clinic, private practitioner and the
United States Veteran’s Administration.

Federal HIPAA Compliance Authorization

1. Purpose: Pistol permit application submitted to the City of Rochester Police
Department.

2. Time Frame and authorization needed: any and all pertinent and up to date
medical records.

(Leave blank: To be completed by Investigating Officer) / /

The candidate has the right to revoke the authorization in writing. The candidate
must be aware that the potential for information disclosed pursuant to this
authorization to be subject to re-disclosure by the recipient and no longer
protected under this rule.

Employment and pre-employment records, including salary records, background
reports, polygraph test questions, answers and reports, pre-employment and
promotional examinations; records of complaint, arrest, trial and/or convictions for
alleged violations of law, including criminal and/or traffic records and records of
complaints of civil nature made by me or against me, whenever located, including
the records and recollections of any attorney at law or counsel, whether representing
me or another person in any case in which I have been a part or had an interest.

® Phone: 585.428.7033 Fax: 585.428.6093 TTY: 585.428.6054 EEO/ADA Employer



MEDICAL RELEASE FORM - Authorization for Release of Personal Information

It is my specific intent to provide access to personal information and to release copies and abstracts
howcver personal or confidential they may appear to be. The sources of information specifically
enumerated herein are for illustrative purposes only and such enumeration shall not be used to deny
access to any reocrds not specifically identified herein. The reason for this authorization is to provide
full and free access to the background and history of personal life for the specific purpose of conducting
a background investigation, which may provide pertinent data for the City of Rochester Police
Department to consider in determining my suitability for a pistol permit in the City of Rochester, County
of Monroe, State of New York.

In any event my aplication is disapproved, the sources of any confidential information will not be
revealed to me. | agree to indemnity and hold harmless the organization and the person to whom this
request is presented as well as their agents and employees from and against all claims, damages, losses
and request expenses, including reasonable attorney fees, arising out of or by reason of complying with
the request.

I have read and fully understand the contents of the “Authorization for Release of Personal
Information”.

DOB / / Social Security Number - -

Dated / / Applicant’s Signature

STATE OF NEW YORK)
COUNTY OF MONROE) Ss:
CITY OF ROCHESTER)

On this day of 20 , before me, the subscriber
appeared, and personally known to me to be the same person referred to
above, duly affixed his/her signature thereto.

NOTARY PUBLIC/COMMISSIONER OF DEEDS

****Failure to provide all medical records may result in disqualification of the applicant****



Clty of Rochester La’Ron D. Singletary

%ﬂ Rochester Police Department Chief of Police

185 Exchange Boulevard, Suite 630
Rochester, New York 14614-2124
www.cityofrochester.gov/publicsafety/police/

Dear Pistol Permit Applicant:

If you take any medication for anxiety, depression, bi-polar disorder, post-traumatic
stress disorder, etc. or have been to counseling or seen a Psychiatrist or Psychologist
for any reason, you MUST complete the attached Authorization for Release of
Personal Information. This will prevent further delays in processing your
application. (Being on medication or receiving Mental Health services is NOT an
automatic dismissal.)

Note: Please leave the expiration date blank. The investigating Officer will fit it in
upon contacting our prescribing MD or counselor.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Prescribing MD, Counselor, Psychiatrist, or Psychologist, etc.

Name/ Title:
Address:

Phone Number: Fax Number:

Name/ Title:
Address:

Phone Number: Fax Number:

Name/ Title:
Address:

Phone Number: Fax Number:

Name/ Title:
Address:

Phone Number: Fax Number:

@ Phone: 585.428.7033 Fax: 585.428.6093 TTY: 585.428.6054 EEO/ADA Employer






Questions Continued

Q. I am moving out of state. Will | still be able to
keep my NY State pistol permit?

A. In general, once a resident has moved out to
another state, his/her pistol permit is void.

Q. Is a pistol permit issued by a licensing officer
in an upstate county valid in New York City?

A. No. A pistol permit issued by an upstate
county is valid in any county in New York
State except New York City.

. What section of the Penal Law authorizes the
placing of restrictions on pistol permits by
the issuing authority?

A.The Penal Law does not specifically authorize
the placing of restrictions on pistol permits.
However, court decisions have consistently
supported the ability of licensing officials to
impose these restrictions. Such an imposition
is an administrative function of the licensing
officer.

Q. | heard that if | put down “self defense
or personal protection” on my
permit application it will be denied?
This is false. Do not be “creative” with the
reasons you require a handgun. Be direct and
to the point.

Q. My permit has restrictions on it. What can |
do?

A. Send a well-written correspondence to the
issuing judge detailing your reasons for
requesting the lifting of restrictions. Note:
This does not guarantee that the judge will
lift the restrictions.

Q. How long does it take to get a pistol permit in
Monroe County?

A. Generally, the population in a county has
a direct affect on the speed in which the
permit application and investigation are
completed. Monroe County has a large
population thus, more applications.

MONROE COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE
HOME FIREARMS SAFETY COURSE
This course is a 4 hour informational discussion

with participation. The Home Firearms Safety
Course covers topics such as:

Fundamentals of firearm safety
Safe home storage of firearms
Pistol permit licensing and permit Q & A

New York State Penal Law Article 35
(defense of life and property)

Domestic violence and firearms
Prohibited locations to carry

The course is pre-scheduled for one Thursday a
month and is conducted at the:

Public Safety Training Facility
1190 Scottsville Road Rochester, NY.

For registration information please visit
www.monroecountysheriff.info

Monroe County Sheriff’s Office

130 S. Plymouth Ave
Rochester, New York 14614
(585) 753-4178

Police Bureau

Todd K. Baxter
Sheriff

For reports or emergencies call 911

MONROE COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE

FIREARMS
SAFETY




FIREARMS SAFETY STARTS WITH YOU!
DO YOU HAVE FIREARMS IN YOUR HOUSE?
ARE THEY STORED PROPERLY?

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. What happens to lawfully possessed firearm
belonging to a licensee who has died?

&

DOES YOUR FAMILY KNOW HOW TO HANDLE THEM SAFELY?

A.The person designated as the executor or
administrator of the deceased’s estate may
lawfully possess the firearms in question for a
period of up to 15 days for the sole purpose of
lawfully disposing of the firearms. If this can-
not be accomplished within the 15 day time

! L e frame, the weapons must be surrendered to a
2. Never allow the muzzle to point at anything pletely to confirm that they are “still” unloaded law enforcement agency.
when you remove them from storage.

jlew eie e el o sete esifoy ot Q. Are antique handguns subject to the same
3. Be sure of your target and know what lies SAFETY AND STORAGE DEVICES: laws as those applied to modern handguns?

behind it. If you decide to keep a firearm in your home

4. Keep your finger off the trigger until your you must consider the issue of how to store

Rules continued

BASIC GUN SAFETY RULES

ANYONE TOUCHING A FIREARM SHOULD KNOW: Store ammunition in a locked location separate

from firearms.

A.The Penal Law definition of antique firearm
is generally applied to muzzle loading black

sights are aligned on target.

5. Be sure your guns are never accessible to
unauthorized or untrained individuals.

SUPPLEMENTAL SAFETY RULES

Alcohol & gunpowder don’t mix -- Don’t shoot
or handle firearms after drinking or using
psycho-active drugs.

Get training before shooting. The Monroe
County Sheriff Office offers a Home Firearms
Safety Course.

Learn & follow range rules for the location
where you're shooting.

Wear hearing protection and safety glasses.
KEY GUIDELINES FOR SAFE STORAGE INCLUDE:

Unloaded firearms should be stored in a locked
cabinet, safe, gun vault or storage case. Be sure
to place a locked storage case in a location
inaccessible to children.

Unloaded firearms can also be secured with

a gun locking device that renders the firearm
inoperable. A gun lock should be used as

an additional safety precaution and not as a
substitute for lock storage. If firearms are disas-
sembled, parts should be securely stored in
separate locations.

the firearm in a safe and secure manner.

There are a variety of safety and storage devic-
es currently available. Some devices are lock-
ing mechanisms designed to keep the firearm
from being loaded or fired, but don't prevent
the firearm from being handled or stolen.
There are also locking storage containers that
hold the firearm out of sight. For maximum
safety you should use both a firearm safety
device and a locking storage container to store
your unloaded firearm.

REMEMBER:

Safety and storage devices are only as secure
as the precautions you take to protect the key
or combination to the lock.

powder firearms, but also applies to pistols or
revolvers “that use fixed cartridges which are
no longer available in the ordinary channels of
commercial trade”. Muzzle loading pistols or re-
volvers do not have to be registered on a pistol
permit if the owner never intends to fire them.

. If they are possessed in a loaded condition or

are simply possessed simultaneously with the
components necessary to make them fire, they
must first be registered on a valid pistol permit.

. When can a licensing officer revoke a pistol

permit?

. The New York State Penal Law provides a

number of instances which mandate the au-
tomatic revocation of a pistol permit, such as
conviction for a felony-level crime or a serious
offense. The law also provides for the cancel-
lation of a license at any time by a judge or
justice of a court of record who decides that a
licensee is no longer fit to possess firearms.

. Can a licensee who owns two homes in sepa-

rate counties obtain pistol permits in both
counties?

No. An application for a pistol permit can only
be made in the county in which the applicant
primarily resides.
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