Department of Public Health

Monroe County, New York



Adam J. Bello County Executive Michael D. Mendoza, MD, MPH, MS Commissioner of Public Health

How do I administer the test?

Carefully read and follow the instructions in the <u>Quick Start Guide for Consumers</u>, included in your box of test kits. You can also download the iHealth COVID-19 Antigen Rapid Test app on your smartphone to watch step-by-step videos. Adults should administer the test in children under age 15.

How long do we have to wait for results? After administering the test, results will be available in 15 minutes. Please report a positive test result within 24 hours (see instructions below).

When should our household use these tests? The two most important times to be tested are *after* a possible exposure to someone with COVID-19 or *before* you are spending time with a vulnerable person, such as an older adult. Keep in mind, the test results only show if you have COVID on the day you are tested. So use the tests right before gathering with people outside of your household.

I'm taking the test because I was exposed to someone with COVID. What should I know? If you are having COVID-like symptoms, you should take the test right away. If you don't have symptoms, you should wait at least 3 days after the exposure before taking the test.

We are a family of five, but we only have two boxes. Who should use them before we gather with others outside our household? Each box contains two test kits. Two groups should be prioritized for rapid testing: young children who cannot get vaccinated and people who spend the most time in spaces where they may be exposed to COVID, such as a crowded workplace or an airport. If you can, however, try to obtain additional kits and test your entire household before gathering with others. The tests can be used regardless of your vaccination status.

What should we do if someone in our household tests positive? Any individual who tests positive for COVID-19 should immediately isolate from others and contact their primary health care provider. Whenever you cannot maintain a 6-foot distance from an infected individual in your home, you should both wear masks.

Do we need to report a positive test result? Yes, <u>within 24 hours</u> you should upload your positive home test result to MCDPH. Take a picture of the test kit showing a positive result and upload it using the <u>online form</u> available at **www.monroecounty.gov/health-covid19-reporting**. If you need assistance, please call Monroe County's COVID hotline at 585-753-5555.

What happens if I don't report my positive test result within 24 hours? If MCDPH does not have a record of your positive test result, we cannot provide an official Release from Isolation Order that is required by many employers, schools, etc. when your isolation period is over. Please plan ahead!

Do we need to report a negative test result? No, you do not need to report a negative home test result to the Monroe County Department of Public Health.

111 Westfall Road • Room 950 • Rochester, New York 14620 (585) 753-2991 • fax: (585) 753-5115 • www.monroecounty.gov • e-mail: mchealth@monroecounty.gov