Summary of Minutes

LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT REVISION COMMISSION

September 6, 2022

1:00 p.m.

Chairwoman Lamar called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Robert Colby (Majority Representative), Yversha Roman (Minority Leader), Lisa

Polito Nicolay (Board of Elections), Jackie Ortiz (Board of Elections)

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Sabrina LaMar (Legislature President),

OTHERS PRESENT: Dave Grant (Legislature Clerk), Frank Keophetlasy (Legislature Deputy Clerk),

Reilly O'Brien (Chief of Staff - Majority Office), Erin Loftus (Majority Office) Peter Elder (Board of Elections), Saul Maneiro (Minority Office), Theresa Bertolone(Minority Office), Vince Felder (Presidents Office), Richard Milne (Legislator), Steve Brew (Legislator), Rachel Barnhart (Legislator), Mercedes

Vazquez Simmons(Legislator).

President LaMar welcomed all of those in attendance and opened with the pledge of allegiance.

President LaMar opened the floor for Public Comment Forum. 3 totals speakers addressed the commission.

Following the public forum President LaMar turned the floor over to Legislator Barnhart for a presentation on a new bipartisan map. Legislator Barnhart presented a new map with information behind its creation.

Following the presentation, President LaMar introduced a motion to direct the updated map to be produced by Arcbridge. The motion was moved by Legislator Colby and Seconded by Commissioner Nicolay. Discussion ensued following the motion. A vote was called by President LaMar and the vote passed 3-2 with Commissioner Ortiz and Minority Leader Roman voting in the negative.

Following the vote to direct the Arcbridge to produce the map President LaMar introduced a Local Law connected to the map and called for a motion and roll call vote on putting forward the map that was being produced by Arcbridge and said local law to the full legislature for adoption. The motion was moved by Legislator Colby and Seconded by Commissioner Nicolay. Discussion ensued following the motion. A vote was called by President LaMar and the vote passed 3-2 with Commissioner Ortiz and Minority Leader Roman voting in the negative.

<u>PUBLIC COMMENT FORUM:</u> 3 total speakers

Robin Wilt, Terrance Schnurr, Michael Slade

ADJOURNMENT:

President LaMar thanked the Commission and adjourned the meeting at 1:59 p.m. The next Legislative District Commission meeting is **TBD**

Respectfully submitted, Frank Keophetlasy Deputy Clerk of the Legislature