FIRST DAY

TUESDAY, JANUARY 3, 2012

ANNUAL SESSION

ROLL CALL

The Monroe County Legislature convened in an annual session on Tuesday, January 3, 2012, in the Legislative Chambers, County Office Building, Rochester, New York.

Cheryl M. Rozzi, Clerk of the Legislature and Chairperson Pro Tem, called the members to order at 6:00 P.M.

Upon calling the roll, the following members responded to their names:

District 1	Richard Yolevich	District 15	E. Daniel Quatro
District 2	Mike Rockow	District 16	Vincent J. Esposito
District 3	Mary A. Valerio	District 17	Edward M. O'Brien
District 4	Stephen Tucciarello	District 18	Ciaran T. Hanna
District 5	Karla F. Boyce	District 19	Jeffery L. McCann
District 6	Fred Ancello	District 20	Robert J. Colby
District 7	Rick Antelli	District 21	Carrie M. Andrews
District 8	Carmen F. Gumina	District 22	Glenn J. Gamble
District 9	Debbie Drawe	District 23	Paul E. Haney
District 10	Anthony Daniele	District 24	Joshua P. Bauroth
District 11	Michael G. Barker	District 25	John Lightfoot
District 12	Jeffrey R. Adair	District 26	Tony Micciche
District 13	John J. Howland - Excused	District 27	Willie J. Lightfoot
District 14	Justin F. Wilcox	District 28	Cynthia Kaleh
		District 29	Michael Patterson

The Honorable Maggie Brooks, Monroe County Executive, administered the Oath of Office to the new Legislators.

Intro. No. 1 ELECTION NO. 1 OF 2012

ELECTION OF A TEMPORARY PRESIDENT

Mr. Daniele nominated Mr. Michael G. Barker to serve as Temporary President of the County Legislature. Mr. Tucciarello seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Mrs. Rozzi declared that the nominations be closed and called the roll for the election of a Temporary President of the County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for a candidate, they were to respond with the word "abstained".

Upon calling the roll, Mr. Michael G. Barker was elected to serve as Temporary President of the Legislature by the following vote:

Barker — Legislators Daniele, O'Brien, Adair, Ancello, Andrews, Antelli, Barker, Bauroth, Boyce, Colby, Drawe, Esposito, Gamble, Gumina, Haney, Hanna, Kaleh, J. Lightfoot, W. Lightfoot, McCann, Micciche, Patterson, Quatro, Rockow, Tucciarello, Valerio, Wilcox, Yolevich - 28

Monroe County Legislature January 3, 2012 Page 2

Note: Temporary President Barker called upon Pastoral Administrator William Rabjohn, of St. Pius the Tenth Church, to give the invocation at the invitation of Legislator Mary A. Valerio.

Note: Temporary President Barker recognized the American Legion Greece Post #468 and asked them to present the Colors of our Country. The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo. At the conclusion of the Pledge of Allegiance, the Colors were retired.

Intro. No. 2 ELECTION NO. 2 OF 2012

ELECTION OF A PERMANENT PRESIDENT

Mr. Daniele nominated Mr. Jeffrey R. Adair to serve as Permanent President of the County Legislature. Mr. McCann seconded the nomination.

Mr. O'Brien nominated Mr. Paul E. Haney to serve as Permanent President of the County Legislature. Mr. W. Lightfoot seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Temporary President Barker declared that the nominations be closed and instructed the Deputy Clerk to call the roll for the election of a Permanent President of the County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for a candidate, they were to respond with the word "abstain".

Upon calling the roll, Mr. Jeffrey R. Adair was elected to serve as Permanent President by the following vote:

Adair — Legislators Daniele, Adair, Ancello, Antelli, Barker, Boyce, Colby, Drawe, Gumina, Hanna, McCann, Micciche, Quatro, Rockow, Tucciarello, Valerio, Yolevich — 17

Haney— Legislators O'Brien, Andrews, Bauroth, Esposito, Gamble, Haney, Kaleh, Lee, J. Lightfoot, W. Lightfoot, Patterson, Wilcox—11

COMMITTEE TO ESCORT PRESIDENT TO THE CHAIR

Temporary President Barker appointed former Presidents Wayne E. Zyra and John T. Auberger as a Committee to escort the new President to the Chair. President Jeffrey R. Adair delivered an acceptance address to the Legislature and expressed his appreciation to everyone.

Intro. No. 3 ELECTION NO. 3 OF 2012

ELECTION OF THE CLERK AND STAFF OF THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE

Mr. Daniele nominated the following to serve as Clerk and Staff of the Monroe County Legislature. Mr. Barker and Mr. O'Brien seconded the nominations.

Cheryl M. Rozzi, to serve as Clerk of the Legislature Casey DiCaro, to serve as Deputy Clerk of the Legislature David Grant, to serve as Second Assistant Deputy Clerk of the Legislature

There being no other nominations, President Adair requested that a single vote be called for the entire slate as presented.

Adopted: Ayes 28, Noes 0.

Note: President Adair designated Legislator Michael G. Barker as Vice President of the Legislature.

Monroe County Legislature January 3, 2012 Page 3

Upon motion by Mr. Anthony J. Daniele, the Legislature adjourned at 6:39 P.M. until Tuesday, January 10, 2012 at 6:00 P.M.

CHERYL M. ROZZI Clerk of the Legislature