FIRST DAY

WEDNESDAY, January 3, 2018

Legislature met pursuant to a Special Meeting Notice Regarding the Election of a President of the Monroe County Legislature.

Vice President Dr. Joe Carbone in the Chair.

ROLL CALL

Present – Legislators Allkofer, Ancello, Bauroth, Boyce, Brew, Carbone, Conley, Delehanty, DiFlorio, Drawe, Felder, Flagler-Mitchell, Harris, Hebert, Howland, Kaleh, Lightfoot, Maffucci, Marianetti, Micciche, Muoio, Rockow, Sheppard, Taylor, Terp, Wilcox, Zale – 27

Absent – Legislator Morelle, Jr. – 1

ANNOUNCEMENT

Vice President Carbone stated that the sole purpose of this meeting, pursuant to Section C2-9C (1) of the County Charter and Section 545-5 of the Rules of the Legislature of the County of Monroe, was to elect a President of the Monroe County Legislature. Notification of this special meeting was given to legislators and the media by the Clerk of the Legislature on Tuesday, December 19, 2017, pursuant to Section 545-5 of the Rules of the Monroe County Legislature.

(Note: Vice President Carbone welcomed Legislator Howard S. Maffucci and presented him with Legislature pins.)

Intro. No. 1

ELECTION NO. 1 OF 2018

ELECTION OF A TEMPORARY PRESIDENT

Mr. Marianetti nominated Mrs. Debbie Drawe to serve as Temporary President of the County Legislature. Mrs. Conley and Ms. Kaleh seconded the nomination.

Mr. Lightfoot nominated Mr. Mark Muoio to serve as Temporary President of the County Legislature. Mr. Flagler-Mitchell seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Dr. Carbone declared that the nominations be closed and instructed the Clerk to call the roll for the election of a Temporary President of the County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for a candidate, they were to respond with the word "abstain."

Upon calling the roll, Mrs. Debbie Drawe was elected to serve as Temporary President of the Legislature by the following vote:

Drawe — Legislators Marianetti, Allkofer, Ancello, Brew, Boyce, Carbone, Conley, Delehanty, DiFlorio, Drawe, Hebert, Howland, Micciche, Rockow, Taylor, Terp, Zale – 17

Muoio — Legislators Felder, Harris, Lightfoot, Maffucci, Muoio, Sheppard, Wilcox – 7

Abstain — Legislators Kaleh, Bauroth, Flagler-Mitchell - 3

The meeting formally opened. Temporary President Drawe requested a moment of silent prayer. The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by the Honorable Anthony J. Daniele.

PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

COUNTY LEGISLATORS

Regarding Calling a Special Meeting of the Legislature.

Read and Print. (File No. 17-0390)

December 19, 2017

To the Monroe County Legislature 39 West Main Street Rochester, New York 14614

Legislators:

Pursuant to Section C2-9C.(1) of the Monroe County Charter, we, the undersigned members of the Monroe County Legislature direct that a special meeting of the Legislature be convened on Wednesday, January 3, 2018 at 6:00 p.m., for the purpose of electing the President of the Legislature

Sincerely,

Anthony J. Daniele	Brian E. Marianetti
Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature
President	Majority Leader

Tina M. Brown	Mike Rockow	Tracy DiFlorio
Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature
District 1	District 2	District 3
Frank X. Allkofer	Karla F. Boyce	Fred Ancello
Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature
District 4	District 5	District 6
Matthew Terp	Debbie Drawe	Sean M. Delehanty
Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature
District 8	District 9	District 11
Steve Brew	John J. Howland	George J. Hebert
Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature
District 12	District 13	District 15
Dr. Joe Carbone	Tanya Conley	Kathleen A. Taylor
Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature	Monroe County Legislature
District 16	District 18	District 19

Mike Zale Tony Micciche

Monroe County Legislature Monroe County Legislature

District 20 District 26

OTHER COUNTY OFFICIALS

Diana M. Christodaro, Clerk of the Legislature – Regarding Calling a Special Meeting of the Monroe County Legislature.

Read and Print. (File No. 17-0391)

December 19, 2017

The Honorable Monroe County Legislature 39 West Main Street Rochester, NY 14614

Re: Special Meeting of the Monroe County Legislature

Honorable Legislators:

At the written direction of nineteen Legislators, a majority of all member of the Legislature, a **Special Meeting of the Monroe County Legislature** is hereby called pursuant to Section C2-9C(1) of the Monroe County Charter and Section 545-5 of the Rules of the Legislature for **Wednesday, January 3, 2018 at 6:00 p.m.** in the Chambers of the Legislature, 406 County Office Building.

The business to be conducted at the special meeting will be the election of a President of the Monroe County Legislature.

Sincerely,

Diana M. Christodaro Clerk of the Legislature

PUBLIC FORUM

An Open Forum was conducted to allow speakers to address the Legislature. No speakers addressed the Legislature.

Intro. No. 2

ELECTION NO. 2 OF 2018

ELECTION OF A PERMANENT PRESIDENT

Mr. Marianetti nominated Dr. Joe Carbone to serve as Permanent President of the County Legislature. Mrs. Conley seconded the nomination.

Mr. Muoio nominated Ms. Cynthia W. Kaleh to serve as Permanent President of the County Legislature. Mr. Lightfoot seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Temporary President Drawe declared that the nominations be closed and instructed the Clerk to call the roll for the election of a Permanent President of the County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for a candidate, they were to respond with the word "abstain".

Upon calling the roll, Dr. Joe Carbone was elected to serve as Permanent President by the following vote:

Monroe County Legislature January 3, 2018 Page 4

Carbone — Legislators Marianetti, Allkofer, Ancello, Brew, Boyce, Carbone, Conley, Delehanty, DiFlorio, Drawe, Hebert, Howland, Micciche, Rockow, Taylor, Terp, Zale – 17

Kaleh — Legislators Kaleh, Bauroth, Felder, Flagler-Mitchell, Harris, Lightfoot, Maffucci, Muoio, Sheppard, Wilcox – 10

COMMITTEE TO ESCORT PRESIDENT TO THE CHAIR

Temporary President Drawe appointed former Presidents Anthony J. Daniele, Jeffrey R. Adair, Wayne E. Zyra, and John T. Auberger as a Committee to escort the new President to the Chair. President Dr. Joe Carbone delivered an acceptance address to the Legislature and expressed his appreciation to everyone.

Note: President Carbone designated Legislator Debbie Drawe as Vice President of the Legislature.

Upon Motion by Legislator Marianetti, the Legislature Adjourned at 6:19 P.M. until Tuesday, January 9, 2018 at 6:00 P.M.

DIANA M. CHRISTODARO Clerk of the Legislature