FIRST DAY

THURSDAY, JANUARY 2, 2020

ANNUAL SESSION

ROLL CALL

The Monroe County Legislature convened in an annual session on Thursday, January 2, 2020, in the Legislative Chambers, County Office Building, Rochester, New York.

Jack Moffitt, Clerk of the Legislature and Chairperson Pro Tem, called the members to order at 5:30 P.M.

Upon calling the roll, the following members responded to their names:

District 1	R. Edwin Wilt	District 15	George J. Hebert
District 2	Jackie Smith	District 16	Joseph Carbone
District 3	Tracy DiFlorio	District 17	Joseph D. Morelle, Jr.
District 4	Frank X. Allkofer	District 18	John B. Baynes
District 5	Karla F. Boyce	District 19	Kathleen A. Taylor
District 6	Fred Ancello	District 20	Mike Zale
District 7	Brian E. Marianetti	District 21	Rachel Barnhart
District 8	Matthew Terp	District 22	Vincent R. Felder
District 9	Paul Dondorfer	District 23	Linda Hasman
District 10	Howard S. Maffucci	District 24	Joshua Bauroth
District 11	Sean M. Delehanty	District 25	John Lightfoot
District 12	Steve Brew	District 26	Yversha M. Roman
District 13	Michael Yudelson	District 27	Sabrina A. LaMar
District 14	Justin Wilcox	District 28	Frank Keophetlasy
		District 29	Ernest Flagler-Mitchell

The Honorable Adam Bello, Monroe County Executive, administered the Oath of Office to the Legislators.

Intro. No. 1

ELECTION NO. 1 OF 2020

ELECTION OF A TEMPORARY PRESIDENT

Mr. Brew nominated Brian E. Marianetti to serve as Temporary President of the County Legislature. Mr. Zale seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Mr. Moffitt declared that the nominations be closed and called the roll for the election of a Temporary President of the County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for a candidate, they were to respond with the word "abstain."

Upon calling the roll, Mr. Brian E. Marianetti was elected to serve as Temporary President of the Legislature by the following vote:

Monroe County Legislature January 2, 2020 Page 2

Marianetti — Legislators Brew, Felder, Allkofer, Ancello, Barnhart, Bauroth, Baynes, Boyce, Carbone, Delehanty, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Flagler-Mitchell, Hasman, Hebert, Keophetlasy, LaMar, Lightfoot, Maffucci, Marianetti, Morelle, Jr., Roman, Smith, Taylor, Terp, Wilcox, Wilt, Yudelson, Zale - 29

Note: Temporary President Marianetti called upon Pastor David K. Branch of Faith Chapel of Churchville, to give the invocation at the invitation of Legislator Steve Brew.

Note: The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by Minority Leader Vincent R. Felder.

Intro. No. 2 ELECTION NO. 2 OF 2020

ELECTION OF A PERMANENT PRESIDENT

Mr. Brew nominated Dr. Joseph Carbone to serve as Permanent President of the County Legislature. Mr. Zale seconded the nomination.

Ms. Barnhart nominated Mr. Vincent R. Felder to serve as Permanent President of the County Legislature. Mr. Morelle, Jr. seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Temporary President Marianetti declared that the nominations be closed and instructed the Clerk to call the roll for the election of a Permanent President of the County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for a candidate, they were to respond with the word "abstain".

Upon calling the roll, Dr. Joseph Carbone was elected to serve as Permanent President by the following vote:

Carbone — Legislators Brew, Allkofer, Ancello, Boyce, Carbone, Delehanty, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Hebert, Marianetti, Smith, Taylor, Terp, Wilt, Zale - 15

Felder — Felder, Barnhart, Bauroth, Baynes, Flagler-Mitchell, Hasman, Keophetlasy, LaMar, Lightfoot, Maffucci, Morelle, Jr., Roman, Wilcox, Yudelson – 14

COMMITTEE TO ESCORT PRESIDENT TO THE CHAIR

Temporary President Marianetti appointed former President John T. Auberger as a Committee to escort the new President to the Chair. President Carbone delivered an acceptance address to the Legislature and expressed his appreciation to everyone.

Intro. No. 3 ELECTION NO. 3 OF 2020

ELECTION OF THE CLERK AND STAFF OF THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE

Mr. Brew nominated the following to serve as Clerk and Staff of the Monroe County Legislature. Mr. Zale seconded the nominations.

Mr. Jack Moffitt, to serve as Clerk of the Legislature

Mr. David Grant, to serve as Deputy Clerk of the Legislature

Ms. Carrie Meisenzahl, to serve as Second Assistant Deputy Clerk of the Legislature

Monroe County Legislature January 2, 2020 Page 3

Mr. Morelle, Jr. nominated the following to serve as Clerk and Staff of the Monroe County Legislature. Ms. LaMar seconded the nominations.

Mr. Dennis O'Brien, to serve as Clerk of the Legislature

Ms. Theresa Bertolone, to serve as Deputy Clerk of the Legislature

Ms. Anabelle Cruz, to serve as Second Assistant Deputy Clerk of the Legislature

There being no other nominations, President Carbone declared that the nominations be closed and instructed the Clerk to call the roll for the election of Clerk and Staff of the Monroe County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for candidates, they were to respond with the word "abstain".

Moffitt, Grant, Meisenzahl — Legislators Brew, Allkofer, Ancello, Boyce, Carbone, Delehanty, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Hebert, Marianetti, Smith, Taylor, Terp, Wilt, Zale - 15

O'Brien, Bertolone, Cruz — Felder, Barnhart, Bauroth, Baynes, Flagler-Mitchell, Hasman, Keophetlasy, LaMar, Lightfoot, Maffucci, Morelle, Jr., Roman, Wilcox, Yudelson – 14

Note: President Carbone designated Legislator Brian E. Marianetti as Vice President of the Legislature.

Upon motion by Mr. Steve Brew, the Legislature adjourned at 6:08 P.M. until Tuesday, January 14, 2020 at 6:00 P.M.

Jack Moffitt Clerk of the Legislature