SECOND DAY
TUESDAY, January 9, 2024
Legislature met pursuant to adjournment.
President Yversha Roman in the Chair.
ROLL CALL
Present – Legislators Barnhart, Bartholomew McCoy, Baynes, Blankley, Bonnick, Brew, Burgess, Colby, Cruz, Delvecchio Hoffman*, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Frazier, Hasman, Hughes-Smith, Johns, Keller, Long, Maffucci, McCabe, McIntyre, Milne, Morris, Roman, Sinclair, Smith, Vazquez Simmons, Yudelson – 28
Absent – Ciardi – 1
* Legislator Participated in the Meeting via Teleconference.
MOMENT OF PRAYER
The meeting formally opened with a moment of silent prayer. The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by Legislator Lystra Bartholomew McCoy
APPROVAL OF MINUTES
Without objection, the Journals of Day 12, December 12, 2023 and Day 1, January 2, 2024 were approved as submitted.
PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS
PROCLAMATIONS
None
FORMAL COMMITTEE REPORTS
None
PUBLIC FORUM
An Open Forum was conducted to allow speakers to address the Legislature. There were five speakers and the Open Forum concluded at 6:19 P.M.

MOTIONS, RESOLUTIONS AND NOTICES

Intro. 16	Yudelson & Baynes		
M. 10	Providing that the Elections for Deputy Clerk of the Legislature, First Assistant Deputy		
28-0	Clerk of the Legislature and Second Assistant Deputy Clerk of the Legislature be Lifted from the Table		
Intro. 17	McCabe & Dondorfer		
M. 11 28-0	Providing that Election for Legislature Clerk's Office Staff Vote be Severed		

Intro. No. 18

ELECTION NO. 7 OF 2024

ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY CLERK OF THE MONROE COUNTY LEGISLATURE

Mr. Brew nominated Ian Watkins, to serve as Deputy Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature. Mr. Dondorfer seconded the nomination.

Mr. Yudelson nominated Nayeliz Santiago, to serve as Deputy Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature. Mr. Baynes, Mr. Blankley and Mr. Cruz seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, President Roman requested that a single vote be called for the candidate as presented.

Upon calling the roll, Ms. Nayeliz Santiago was elected to serve as Deputy Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature by the following vote:

Watkins — Legislators Brew, Colby, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Johns, Keller, McIntyre, Milne, Morris, Sinclair, Smith – 11

Santiago — Legislators Barnhart, Bartholomew McCoy, Baynes, Blankley, Bonnick, Burgess, Cruz, Delvecchio Hoffman, Frazier, Hasman, Hughes-Smith, Long, Maffucci, McCabe, Roman, Vazquez Simmons, Yudelson – 17

Intro. No. 19

ELECTION NO. 8 OF 2024

ELECTION OF THE SECOND ASSISTANT DEPUTY CLERK OF THE MONROE COUNTY LEGISLATURE

Mr. Brew nominated Ian Watkins, to serve as 2nd Assistant Deputy Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature. Mr. Dondorfer seconded the nomination.

Mr. Yudelson nominated Kelsey Sackett, to serve as 2nd Assistant Deputy Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature. Mr. Baynes, Mr. Blankley and Mr. Cruz seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, President Roman requested that a single vote be called for the candidate as presented.

Upon calling the roll, Ms. Kelsey Sackett was elected to serve as 2nd Assistant Deputy Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature by the following vote:

Watkins — Legislators Brew, Colby, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Johns, Keller, McCabe, McIntyre, Milne, Morris, Sinclair, Smith – 12

Santiago — Legislators Barnhart, Bartholomew McCoy, Baynes, Blankley, Bonnick, Burgess, Cruz, Delvecchio Hoffman,

Monroe County Legislature January 9, 2024 Page 3

Frazier, Hasman, Hughes-Smith, Long, Maffucci, Roman, Vazquez Simmons, Yudelson – 16

3. Yudelson & Barnhart Burgess Hasman Maffucci Intro. 20 Res. 1 21-7	24-0039	Appointment to the Monroe County Climate Action Plan Advisory Committee Matter of Urgency (Legislators Brew, Colby, Keller, McCabe, Morris, Sinclair and Smith Voted in the Negative.)
4. Yudelson &	24-0040	Confirming the Appointment of Legislative Representative to Monroe Community
Burgess Maffucci Intro. 21 Res. 2 28-0		College Board of Trustees Matter of Urgency

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

None

Upon Motion by Legislator Yudelson, the Legislature Adjourned at 6:31 P.M. until Tuesday, February 13, 2024 at 6:00 P.M.

David GrantClerk of the Legislature