Summary of Minutes

PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE

August 23, 2021

5:30 p.m.

Vice Chairman Dondorfer called the meeting to order at 5:45 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Paul Dondorfer (Vice Chair), Frank X. Allkofer, Jennifer S. Wright, Sean

M. Delehanty, Sabrina A. LaMar (RMM), Ernest S. Flagler-Mitchell, Frank

Keophetlasy, Yversha M. Roman, Dr. Joe Carbone (Ex-Officio)

MEMBERS ABSENT: Karla F. Boyce (Chair) (Excused)

OTHER LEGISLATORS PRESENT: G. Blake Keller, George J. Hebert, Howard Maffucci, John B. Baynes,

Joshua Bauroth

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Jeff McCann (Deputy County Executive), Michael J. Garland, P.E. (DES

Director), Robert Franklin (CFO), John Bringewatt (County Attorney), Laura Smith (Chief Deputy County Attorney), Richard Tantalo (Public Safety Director), Virginia Verhagen (Central Police Services), Jennifer Curley (Sheriff's Admin.), Jennifer Ball (Probation), Don Crumb (Law), John Clark (Crime Lab), Tim Henry (Deputy Director Public Safety)

<u>PUBLIC FORUM</u>: There were no speakers.

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>: The minutes of July 26, 2021 were approved as submitted.

<u>NEW BUSINESS</u>: (President Carbone Voted on the Following Referrals.)

21-0307 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Governor's Traffic Safety Committee for

the New York State's Highway Safety Program - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Allkofer, SECONDED by Legislator Wright.

ADOPTED: 8-0

21-0308 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Division of Homeland Security and

Emergency Services for the 2020-21 Public Safety Answering Points Operations Grant

Program - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Wright, SECONDED by Legislator Delehanty.

ADOPTED: 9-0

21-0309 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Governor's Traffic Safety Committee for

the Highway Safety Program - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by President Carbone, SECONDED by Legislator Allkofer.

ADOPTED: 9-0

21-0310 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services for

the 2021-2022 Aid to Crime Laboratories Program (Monroe County Crime Laboratory) -

County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Allkofer, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Wright. <u>ADOPTED</u>: 9-0

21-0311 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services for the County Reentry Task Force Program and Authorize a Contract with Delphi Drug and Alcohol Council, Inc. – County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Wright, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Delehanty. ADOPTED: 9-0

Acceptance of a Grant from the United States Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women, for the Improving Criminal Justice Responses Grant Program, also known as the Arrest Program, and Authorize an Intermunicipal Agreement with the City of Rochester and Contracts with the Legal Aid Society of Rochester, New York, Planned Parenthood of Central and Western New York, Inc., and Willow Domestic Violence Center of Greater Rochester, Inc. – County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Delehanty, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Allkofer and President Carbone. ADOPTED: 9-0

OTHER MATTERS:

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no other matters, Vice Chairman Dondorfer adjourned the meeting at 5:52 p.m.

The next Public Safety Meeting is scheduled for **Monday, Septmeber 27, 2021** at 5:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, David Grant Deputy Clerk of the Legislature