Summary of Minutes PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE May 23, 2023 5:30 p.m.

Chairman Dondorfer called the meeting to order at 5:31 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Paul Dondorfer (Chair), Sean M. Delehanty, Richard B. Milne

(Vice Chair), Robert Colby, Kirk Morris, Carolyn Delvecchio

Hoffman, William Burgess, Susan Hughes-Smith

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Maria Vecchio (RMM) (Excused)

OTHER LEGISLATORS PRESENT: Steve Brew, Howard Maffucci, Ricky Frazier, Rachel Barnhart,

Yversha Roman, Mercedes Vazquez Simmons

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Jeff McCann (Deputy County Executive), Robert Franklin

(CFO), John Bringewatt (County Attorney), Dawn Staub (District Attorney's Office), Richard Tantalo (Director of Public Safety), Sean Murphy (Chief of Engineering and Facilities - DES), Korey Brown (Undersheriff), Chief Deputy

Michael Fowler (MCSO)

PRESENTATION: 2024-2029 Capital Improvement Program

Pat Gooch, Senior Planner

Monroe County Planning & Development Department

As it pertains to the Public Safety Committee

<u>PUBLIC FORUM</u>: There were 22 speakers.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: The minutes of March 28, 2023 and were approved as

submitted.

NEW BUSINESS:

23-0144 - Adopt 2024-2029 Capital Improvement Program - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Milne, SECONDED by Legislator Colby.

ADOPTED: 8-0

23-0146 - <u>Authorize Contracts with Bergmann Associates, Architects, Engineers, Landscape Architects & Surveyors, D.P.C., Erdman Anthony and Associates, Inc., and LaBella Contracts and LaBella Contracts are also associated and the contract of the contracts are also associated and the contract of the c</u>

Associates, D.P.C. for Monroe County Sheriff's Office Architectural and Engineering

<u>Term Services</u> - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Colby, SECONDED by Legislator Morris.

ADOPTED: 8-0

23-0163 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services

for the District Attorney's Office for the Non-Fatal Shooting Initiative - County

Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Morris, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Delehanty. ADOPTED: 8-0

23-0164 - <u>Authorize an Intermunicipal Agreement with the Hilton Parma Fire District for the Storage and Deployment of the Monroe County Hazardous Materials Response Trailer</u>
- County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Delehanty, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Milne. ADOPTED: 8-0

23-0165 - Approve and Adopt the Updated 2023 Monroe County Hazard Mitigation Plan - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Milne, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Colby. ADOPTED: 8-0

23-0166 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Canal Corporation for the New York

State Canal Corporation Marine Patrol Matching Grant Program - County Executive

Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Colby, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Morris.

ADOPTED: 8-0

23-0168 - Amend Resolution 361 of 2022 to Accept Additional Funding from the New York
State STOP-DWI Foundation, Inc. for DWI High Visibility Engagement Campaign
Enforcement and Amend and Increase the Agreements with Five Municipalities County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Morris, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Delehanty. ADOPTED: 8-0

23-0170 - Authorizing the Monroe County Sheriff's Office to Accept the Donation of a Percheron Thoroughbred Cross Named "Kallie" from Owners Bruce and Katie Ferguson for the Monroe County Sheriff's Mounted Unit - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Delehanty, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Milne. ADOPTED: 8-0

Amend the 2023 Operating Budget of the Office of the Sheriff to Provide Adequate Staffing for the Police Bureau and Establish the Regional Investigative Operations Center by Appropriating Unassigned Fund Balance, Amend the 2023 Capital Budget to Increase Funding for the Project Entitled "Sheriff's Vehicle Replacement," Authorize the Creation of Forty-Three Sworn and Civilian Positions, and Authorize and Interfund Transfer - County Executive Adam J. Bello, President Sabrina LaMar, Majority Leader Steve Brew, Minority Leader Yversha Roman, Legislators Blake Keller, Jackie Smith, Tracy DiFlorio, Frank X. Allkofer, Richard B. Milne, Sean McCabe, Kirk Morris, Mark Johns, Paul Dondorfer, Howard Maffucci, Sean M. Delehanty, Michael Yudelson, George J. Hebert, Dave Long, John B. Bayne, Kathleen Taylor, Robert J. Colby, Mercedes Vazquez Simmons

MOVED by Legislator Milne, SECONDED by Legislator Colby.

Motion to Table Referral No. 23-0176

<u>MOVED</u> by Legislator Hughes-Smith, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Delvecchio Hoffman.

<u>FAILED</u>: 2-6 ((Legislators Delvecchio Hoffman and Hughes-Smith Voted in the Positive.)

<u>ADOPTED</u>: 6-2 (Legislators Delvecchio Hoffman and Hughes-Smith Voted in the Negative.)

Authorize Grant Contracts and Appropriation Transfers Pursuant to the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) - County Executive Adam J. Bello, President Sabrina LaMar, Majority Leader Steve Brew, Legislators Howard Maffucci, Blake Keller, Jackie Smith, Tracy DiFlorio, Frank X. Allkofer, Richard B. Milne, Sean McCabe, Kirk Morris, Mark Johns, Paul Dondorfer, Sean M. Delehanty, Michael Yudelson, Susan Hughes-Smith, George J. Hebert, Dave Long, Maria Vecchio, John B. Baynes, Kathleen Taylor, Robert J. Colby, Rachel Barnhart, Mercedes Vazquez Simmons, Linda Hasman

MOVED by Legislator Colby, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Morris. ADOPTED: 8-0

OTHER MATTERS:

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no other matters, Chairman Dondorfer adjourned the meeting at 7:09 p.m.

The next Public Safety Meeting will be held on Tuesday, June 27, 2023 at 5:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Frank Keophetlasy Deputy Clerk of the Legislature