

Office of the Sheriff

MONROE COUNTY

"ONE TEAM"



Sheriff Todd K. Baxter

Undersheriff Korey K. Brown

130 SOUTH PLYMOUTH AVENUE, ROCHESTER, NY 14614

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
COMMUNICATIONS DIRECTOR: Amy Young
Monroe County Sheriff's Office
130 S. Plymouth Ave.
Rochester, NY 14614
(585) 441-2605
MCSOCommunications@monroecounty.gov

MONROE COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE COMMEMORATES 'SHERIFFS WEEK' IN NEW YORK STATE

September 20 – 26, 2020

Rochester, NY (**September 23, 2020**) – The Monroe County Sheriff's Office joins sheriffs throughout New York State in commemorating **Sheriffs Week** September 20 – 26, 2020, as declared by New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo. The week highlights the service and contributions of county sheriffs across the state, honoring the dedication of the Office of Sheriff in county government and in the statewide criminal justice system. It also pays tribute to those sheriffs and sheriff's deputies who have died in the line of duty.

In New York State, the Office of Sheriff was provided for in the state's first constitution in 1777, and has existed as a continuous protector of the public good ever since. The Monroe County Sheriff's Office was formed in 1821 with the appointment of Brockport merchant James Seymour as the first Sheriff. Sheriff Todd K. Baxter currently serves as the 49th Sheriff of Monroe County.

Sheriffs are the only law enforcement officials in the state to be directly elected by their constituents. As elected officials, they are directly accountable to the people of the community in which they serve. The Sheriff is the highest ranking law enforcement officer in the county, and in many counties throughout New York State, is also the principal source of police protection. The Monroe County Sheriff's Office has five bureaus, to include, Road Patrol, Jail, Court, Civil, and Staff Services.

In recognition of Sheriff's Week, the MCSO also honored its fallen; those sheriffs and sheriff's deputies who died in the line of duty, with a Wreath Laying Ceremony on Wednesday, September 23, 2020 at Sheriff's headquarters, located at 130 S. Plymouth Ave., Rochester.



In Memoriam:

Deputy Sheriff	Simon J. Bermingham	End of Watch 01/10/12
Special Deputy	C. Fred Sova	End of Watch 09/08/31
Special Deputy	Joseph G. Munz	End of Watch 02/26/32
Deputy Sheriff	William Marshall	End of Watch 04/03/46
Deputy Sheriff	James I. Conheady	End of Watch 03/25/47
Deputy Sheriff	John Pullano	End of Watch 05/16/57
Undersheriff	George A. Conway	End of Watch 08/13/65
Deputy Sheriff	Francis E. Dombrowski	End of Watch 02/06/70
Deputy Sheriff	Sergeant Robert M. Skelton, Jr.	End of Watch 06/23/72
Deputy Sheriff	Sergeant Peter J. Rotolo	End of Watch 09/20/74
Deputy Sheriff	Corporal Catherine M. Crawford	End of Watch 03/05/95

###



