Monroe County in conjunction with the Rochester—Monroe County Youth Bureau & the Rochester—Monroe County Youth Board presents

# Young Citizen of the Year Awards

# Willie W. Lightfoot Youth Advocate of the Year Awards

"Imagine living in a community ...

Where all young people feel loved and supported by their families and neighbors,

Where youth have many positive, caring places to be,

Where young people know what is expected of them and have strong

values that guide their actions,

Where young people have skills to make healthy choices and have good relationships"



ADAM J. BELLO COUNTY EXECUTIVE

## BACKGROUND

The Young Citizen of the Year and Willie W. Lightfoot Youth Advocate of the Year Awards were established by the Monroe County Legislature as one of the highest honors for youth and adult leadership, community service, advocacy and perseverance. The winners are dynamic Monroe County residents with the passion and drive to change the world, as well as identify and realize solutions to problems. They are committed to strengthening their communities and themselves. The awards pay tribute to outstanding citizens who have made a local contribution toward advocacy and action. Award Recipients in each category will be mailed a formal invitation to the award ceremony.

### ELIGIBILITY

An individual is eligible for consideration if he/she has exhibited outstanding leadership and performed extraordinary acts on behalf of others or whose achievements have greatly enhanced the quality of life for Monroe County, or has served as a role model for youth advocacy.

# HOW TO NOMINATE AN ADULT OR YOUTH FOR RECOGNITION

Fill out the attached application and return it by mail along with your nomination letter and letter of reference.

#### NOMINATION PROCESS (Nominations must include all information requested and be submitted by mail)

- Nomination application must contain nominee's date of birth.
  - ◊ Submit a Letter of Nomination. Please submit a narrative of the nominee's service that qualifies them for this award in

200 words or less.

- ◊ Submit a Letter of Reference. This must be signed by a person who can attest to the nominee's leadership and service.
- ◊ Be sure that the reference letter contains a phone number/e-mail address of the references.
- $^{\diamond}$  The nominator may be contacted with information on behalf of the nominee.
- Nominations may be submitted in alternate formats for persons with disabilities who cannot complete in written format providing that all nomination information is included. Please contact the Rochester-Monroe County Youth Bureau at 585-753-6460 for assistance.

## SELECTION CRITERIA

The 2020 Young Citizen of the Year and 2020 Willie W. Lightfoot Youth Advocate of the Year award nominees must personally exhibit or have demonstrated activities related to the following:

### PRESENTATION OF THE AWARDS

#### 2020 Willie W. Lightfoot Award

- Must be a resident of Monroe County
- Must be at least 22 years of age
- Must demonstrate though service and action, values that reflect the full meaning of a free and democratic society
- Must demonstrate a commitment to public service
- Must be active in volunteer service
- Must set a positive example
- Must demonstrate leadership

### 2020 Young Citizen of the Year Award

- Must be a resident of Monroe County
- Must not be over the age of 21
- Must demonstrate through service and actions, values that reflect the full meaning of a free and democratic society
- Must demonstrate a commitment to public service
- Must be active in volunteer service
- Must set an example to peers
- Must demonstrate leadership in school

### Awards will be presented at the Monroe Community College on June 17, 2020.

### WHERE TO SEND YOUR NOMINATIONS

ALL nominations should be mailed to: Monroe County DHS—Youth Bureau Attn: Anne Eichas / Julie Gee 111 Westfall Road, Suite 660 Rochester, New York 14620

### **APPLICATION & NOMINATION DEADLINE**

### Nominations are due by Friday, April 17, 2020

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Julie Gee at 585-753-6634 or Juliegee@monroecounty.gov.

#### 2020 Young Citizen of the Year

#### 2020 Willie W. Lightfoot Youth Advocate of the Year

Nomination Form

Please print neatly or type.	
Name of Nominee:	
Address:	
City State:	Zip Code:
E-mail Address:	
School (if applicable):	
Daytime Phone: ()	Home Phone: ()
Date of Birth:///	
Name of Nominator:	
Address:	
City: State:	Zip Code:
E-mail Address:	
	_ Fax Number:
(Please check the appropriate category)	
$\diamondsuit$ Young Citizen of the Year	
• Age 12 and Under	
$igodoldsymbol{O}$ Age 13 through 15	
lace Age 16 through 21	
♦ Willie W. Lightfoot Youth Advocate	

#### NOMINATION GUIDELINES

Nominations must be submitted by mail.

- 1. Nomination letters must be no more than 200 words and must be typed. Nominees must meet all the selection criteria to be eligible for consideration. To assist in your efforts, we recommend that you be sure to answer the following questions:
  - How has this individual demonstrated a commitment to the community and County?
  - What values does the nominee promote or encourage while working with youth, peers, or others?
  - What additional volunteer activities has the nominee participated in?
- At least one letter of reference needs to be signed by persons attesting to the nominee's services. Nominators
  may offer additional contact information for references, who may be contacted with information on
  behalf of the nominee.
- 3. Nominees must be Monroe County residents. The leadership and community service activities described must benefit the citizens of Monroe County.
- 4. Decisions made by the selection committee are final. All submitted entry forms and supporting materials

The 2020 Young Citizen of the Year and Willie W. Lightfoot Youth Advocate of the Year Awards are presented by:

# County Executive Adam J. Bello & 2020 Monroe County Legislature

Ed Wilt, 1st District - Parma, Greece Jackie Smith, 2nd District - Clarkson, Hamlin, Sweden Tracy DiFlorio, 3rd District - Chili Frank X Allkofer, 4th District - Gates, Ogden Karla F. Boyce, 5th District - Henrietta, Mendon, Pittsford, Rush Fred Ancello, 6th District - Greece Brian E. Marianetti, 7th District - Greece, Rochester Matthew Terp, 8th District - Webster Paul Dandorfer, 9th District - Penfield Howard Maffucci, 10th District - Pittsford, East Rochester, Brighton Sean M. Delehanty, 11th District - Fairport, Perinton Steve Brew, 12th District - Wheatland, Riga, Chili, Henrietta Michael Yudelson, 13th District - Henrietta, Pittsford Justin Wilcox, 14th District - Brighton, Henrietta George J. Hebert, 15th District - Webster, Penfield Dr. Joe Carbone, President, 16th District - Irondequoit Joseph D. Morelle, Jr., 17th District - Irondequoit John B. Baynes, 18th District - Perinton, East Rochester Kathleen Taylor, 19th District - Greece, Parma Mike Zale, 20th District - Ogden, Sweden, Greece Rachel Barnhart, 21st District - Rochester Vincent R. Felder, 22nd District - Rochester Linda Hasman, 23rd District - Rochester, Brighton Joshua Bauroth, 24th District - Rochester, Brighton John Lightfoot, 25th District - Rochester Yversha M. Roman, 26th District - Gates, Greece, Rochester Sabrina LaMar, 27th District - Rochester Frank Keophetlasy, 28th District - Rochester Ernest S. Flagler-Mitchell, 29th District - Rochester