Skip navigation.

Login | Register | Help | Contact Us | FAQ | Site Map

Brooks Announces Hazardous Household Waste And Electronics Collection On County's Eastside

Brooks Announces Hazardous Household Waste And Electronics Collection On County's Eastside

Monroe County Executive Maggie Brooks announced that the County’s Department of Environmental Services (DES) and the towns of Perinton and Pittsford as well as the Villages of Pittsford, East Rochester and Fairport have teamed up to hold a free household hazardous waste (HHW), paper shredding and electronics collection day on Saturday, May 18th from 7:45 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Perinton Highway Garage at 100 Cobbs Lane. Appointments are required for the HHW collection, but are not needed for recycling electronics.

“This collection gives residents the opportunity to dispose of potentially hazardous chemicals in a safe manner while keeping usable items out of landfills,” said Brooks.  “These collections are also a great demonstration of how the County and its government partners are going green to save green, by collaborating and streamlining services to better serve local taxpayers.”

To ensure safety and reduce waiting times, appointments are required for all HHW collections. Perinton and Fairport residents should call 223-5115, and Pittsford and East Rochester residents can call 248-6250. This collection is open to all Monroe County residents and you can also make an appointment online at Appointments will be accepted until Friday, May 17th.

Most household hazardous waste (i.e. paint, flammables and other home chemicals) is safe when used and properly stored. These household wastes are potential environmental hazards when unwanted and improperly disposed. Up to 30 gallons of the following materials will be accepted at no charge:

  • Oil-based and latex paint
  • Wood stain and preservatives
  • Automotive fluids and driveway sealers
  • Flammable products and solvents
  • Household chemicals and pool & photo chemicals
  • Compact fluorescent light bulbs and straight fluorescent bulbs
  • Rechargeable (Ni-Cad) and button batteries
  • Thermometers and thermostats
  • Syringes and sharps (must be safely packaged and labeled)

Motor oil, vehicle batteries, propane tanks, empty containers, everyday batteries and spackle and joint compounds will not be accepted.

Do Not Bring: used motor oil & vehicle batteries (contact service station or retailer); Pharmaceutical Wastes, Propane tanks (permanent HHW facility only); cans with dried latex paint – if latex pain is dried place in regular trash with the lid off; empty containers (trash or recycle); everyday alkaline batteries (trash); glazing/spackle & joint compounds (trash).

Old computers, electronic equipment and paper shredding will also be accepted on this date and at this collection site ONLY. The following electronics will be accepted:

  • Televisions/computer monitors
  • Microwaves
  • Computers and laptops
  • Modems, servers and peripherals
  • GPS units and cell phones
  • Fax machines and copiers
  • CD players and IT equipment
  • Audio/visual and telecommunications equipment

For more information on additional HHW collections throughout Monroe County, residents are asked to call DES at 753-7600 (option #3) or go online at