Skip navigation.

Login | Register | Help | Contact Us | FAQ | Site Map

Brooks Announces Chili-Gates Regional Household Hazardous Waste Collection

Brooks Announces Chili-Gates Regional Household Hazardous Waste Collection

Monroe County Executive Maggie Brooks announced that the County’s Department of Environmental Services (DES) has partnered with the Towns of Chili, Gates, Wheatland, Riga and the Villages of Scottsville and Churchville to hold an appointment-only Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) collection at the new Town of Chili Highway Garage located at 200 Beaver Road, on Saturday, September 14, 2013 from 7:45 a.m. to 12 noon.

“The County’s Household Hazardous Waste program provides our residents with the opportunity to dispose of their potentially harmful chemicals in a safe and efficient manner,” said Brooks.  “This program not only demonstrates our commitment to the sustainability of the local environment, but continues to build upon the strong partnership between Monroe County and our local municipalities.”

Most HHW is safe when used and stored properly, but products may turn into environmental hazards when they become unwanted and/or are disposed of improperly.  The collection is open to all Monroe County residents and is by appointment only.  Residents must make an appointment by September 13th to reduce waiting times and ensure safety. To schedule an appointment, call the Town of Chili at 889-2630 (option #2).

Residents can also book an appointment online at  Waste from businesses will not be accepted.

Up to 30 gallons of the following materials will be accepted at no charge:
·    Oil-based and latex paint
·    Wood stain and preservatives
·    Automotive fluids (antifreeze, brake and transmission fluids)
·    Pesticides and fertilizers
·    Flammable products (kerosene, thinners, solvents)
·    Household cleaners
·    Driveway sealer
·    Pool & Photo Chemicals
·    Rechargeable (Ni-Cad) & Button Batteries
·    Mercury (thermometers, thermostats)
·    Syringes/Sharps (safely packaged)

Do Not Bring: used motor oil & vehicle batteries (contact service station or retailer); propane tanks (ecopark HHW facility only); pharmaceutical wastes; cans with dried paint (if it rattles when shaken – remove lid and place in trash); empty containers (place in trash or recycle bin); everyday alkaline batteries (place in trash); glazing/spackle & joint compounds (place in trash).

For more information, or to take advantage of other HHW collections throughout Monroe County, call the DES at 753-7600 (option #3) or go online to

Media Inquiries, contact:
Department of Communications at 753-1080