Skip navigation.

Login | Register | Help | Contact Us | FAQ | Site Map

Court and Land Records

General Information and Requests

Picture of For Sale sign in front of house.

The County Clerk is the Clerk of Supreme and County Courts and is responsible for maintaining the court files for civil and criminal matters. The County Clerk is also the official registrar of deeds, mortgages, assignments of mortgages, satisfactions of mortgages, judgments and liens. The Clerk has the duty of indexing and preserving these documents.

A search of public court and land records can be conducted at the Clerk’s Office either in person or via telephone or fax request. Another option is to search records by using the On-line Office of the Monroe County Clerk.

Copies of records are 65¢ per page. A $1.30 minimum charge is required. The fee for a certified copy is $5 for a document up to four pages in length, plus a charge of $1.25 per page for each additional page when applicable. Also, an extra fee of $5 for every 2 years searched is charged whenever a search of the records is involved. Payment may be made at the time of pickup, at the Clerk’s office. The County Clerk’s Office accepts cash, checks, Visa and Master Card.

Mail-in Requests can be made in writing and mailed to the Monroe County Clerk’s Office (39 W. Main Street, Room 105, Rochester, New York, 14614) along with a check for the appropriate amount of money made payable to the Monroe County Clerk. For further information, please call 585 753-1600.

Faxed Requests can be made in writing and faxed to the Monroe County Clerk’s Office at 585 753-1624. Please include a telephone number that you can be reached at. A Clerk’s Office representative will contact you to advise you of the charge for your request. Payment may be made over the phone via credit card, by mailing a check or in person.

Telephone Requests can be made by calling 585 753-1600 during normal business hours.

When ordering documents, please provide the following information:

  • index number
  • type of record sought
  • filing date
  • name of the parties (or a business name)

 

Filing Fees

Effective February 10, 2011:

In accordance with Local Law #1 of 2011, the fee for a recording page will increase to $20 and the per page recording fee will increase to $5. See new calculated fees below.

Mortgages

Picture of checks and paperwork by calculator on table.

Mortgage instruments must include all mortgagors and mortgagees, the new tax number, address, legal description of the property and the type of dwelling.

  • The base fee to record a mortgage is $45, which includes the recording page.
  • Each page is $5. (Therefore, it will cost $50 to record a one page mortgage.)
  • Applicable Mortgage Tax is also due at time of recording.

Mortgage Tax Collection

  1. Single or two family dwelling (only one structure)
    • Mortgage of $10,000 or LESS—3/4 of 1%
      • half (1/2) of 1% paid by MORTGAGOR
      • one quarter (1/4) of 1% paid by MORTGAGEE
      • Half (1/2) of 1% goes to the town or the city where the property is located; one quarter (1/4) of 1% goes to the state of New York; 0 will go to the Transportation Authority.
    • Mortgage OVER $10,000—1% less $25
      • three quarters (3/4) of 1% paid by MORTGAGOR
      • one quarter (1/4) of 1% paid by MORTGAGEE
      • Half (1/2) of 1% goes to the town or the city where the property is located; one quarter (1/4) of 1% goes to the state of New York; one quarter (1/4) of 1% goes to the Transportation Authority.
  2. Multiple structures or three to five family dwelling—1% of Mortgage Amount
    • three quarters (3/4) of 1% paid by MORTGAGOR
    • one quarter (1/4) of 1% paid by MORTGAGEE
    • Half (1/2) of 1% goes to the town or the city where the property is located; one quarter (1/4) of 1% goes to the state of New York; one quarter (1/4) of 1% goes to the Transportation Authority.
  3. Multiple family dwelling (over six), vacant land (not to be improved by one or two family dwelling), commercial—1% of mortgage amount
    • 1% paid by MORTGAGOR
    • Half (1/2) of 1% goes to the town or the city where the property is located; one quarter (1/4) of 1% goes to the state of New York; one quarter (1/4) of 1% goes to the Transportation Authority.
  4. Vacant land (to be improved by one or two family dwelling)—1% of Mortgage Amount LESS $25
    • three quarters (3/4) of 1% paid by MORTGAGOR
    • one quarter (1/4) of 1% paid by MORTGAGEE
    • Half (1/2) of 1% goes to the town or the city where the property is located; one quarter (1/4) of 1% goes to the state of New York; one quarter (1/4) of 1% goes to the Transportation Authority.

 

Deeds

Deeds must be dated originals and include the name and address of both the grantor and grantee, return address or attorney’s box number, full legal property description specifying which municipality the property is situated in, the new tax number, property and tax mailing address, signature of grantor, acknowledgement matching signature and name cited on document, and complete notary information. Deed filings must also include a completed TP-584 and RP-5217 (Equalization Form).

  • The base fee to record a deed is $45, which includes the recording page. 
  • Each page is $5. (Therefore, it will cost $50 to record a one page deed.) 
  • The TP-584 form is $5. 
  • The Equalization Form fee is $125 if one the following boxes is checked: 7A, 7B, 7E or both 7G and box 8 OR if the property classification code in Item 18 is: 100 through 199; or 200 through 299; or 411-C. Otherwise the Equalization Form fee is $250. 
  • Transfer Tax of $4 per thousand.

Important Information - Revised RP-5217

The New York State Department of Taxation and Finance has revised the current RP-5217 form. The new form is a down-loadable, bar-coded form. All filers should begin submitting the new PDF version of the RP-5217 form with their deed transaction. The form will need to be created on your computer using the link below in order for the bar code to be generated. It should not be handwritten or typed. Further instructions can be obtained from the State's website link below.

Effective January 1, 2014, the Monroe County Clerk's Office will begin accepting the new RP-5217-PDF form. The current 4-part forms will also be accepted but only until January 31, 2014. Please note that the old 4-part forms will not be accepted after January 31, 2014.

For further information on this new form or to begin using the form please click here:

NYS Department of Taxation RP-5217-PDF Report

Index Numbers

Index numbers are assigned to open a file where all later papers are kept and which bear that same number. Index numbers are assigned only to those actions and proceedings issued by the New York Supreme or Monroe County Courts.

The index application must be completed and filed at the Monroe County Clerk’s Office. The fee per number is $210.

Please remember that all instruments filed with the Monroe County Clerk’s Office must bear original signatures.

 

Civil Actions

A $210 check payable to the County Clerk for assigning an index number, starts a civil action proceeding. Please remember that instruments filed with the County Clerk’s Office must bear original signatures.

A civil action file may include court orders, affidavits, summons, complaints or any document pertaining to that action and bearing the assigned index number. If you do not know the index number assigned to your action, a $5 fee will be charged for every two years searched.

Note: For information on court dates, jury duty, bail bond hearings or small claims, please see the courts listed in the blue pages of your telephone book.

 

Criminal Proceedings

Picture of handcuffs.

Individuals may not initiate criminal proceedings directly, therefore, if you wish to initiate a criminal proceeding please consult an attorney, law enforcement agency or the district attorney’s office.

The Monroe County Clerk’s Office is the source for criminal records filed by the New York State Supreme and Monroe County Courts. Only felony convictions are filed in the Monroe County Clerk’s Office. It will be helpful in locating a criminal file if you know the index number and year of filing. Only the parties involved and/or their counsel may have access to any sealed records, otherwise a court order for unsealing is required.

Federal, city and town proceedings are the responsibility of those government bodies and are not filed with this office.

 

Birth and Death Records

Picture of person thumbing through record files.

Neither birth nor death records are recorded in the Monroe County Clerk’s Office.

Both birth and death records may be obtained from the Monroe County Health Department’s Office of Vital Records. Visit the Health Department or call 585 753-5141 during normal business hours.

Visit the Monroe County Health Department’s Office of Vital Records.

Order records online from Monroe County Vital Records.

 

As a part of a collaboration between Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo and the Monroe County Bureau of Vital Records, residents will be able to obtain certified copies of Birth Certificates at the Greece DMV on the last Saturday of each month between 8:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. Vital Records staff will be at the Greece DMV to process these transactions on January 26, February 23, March 30, April 27, May 25, June 29, July 27, August 31, September 28 and October 26.  This service will not be available in November or December.

Clerk Right Now

Pittsford Town Hall and Greece Town Hall To Host Passport Services County Clerk staff will be available every Wednesday at the Pittsford Town Hall and every Thursday at the Greece Town Hall from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. to provide the entire range of passport services at the two locations, including photos and expedited applications, without need for an appointment.
Renew Monroe Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo launched "Renew Monroe", encouraging residents to renew their vehicle registrations at local DMV offices. Over $500,000 annually could be kept working here if every vehicle owner in Monroe County participated in the new program. Residents can mail their renewals to the Henrietta DMV Office, use a convenient drop box, or for immediate return of their registration, use an Express Line at any permanent DMV branch.
Special Passport Dates for 2014 The Monroe County Clerk's Office is open Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. to process passport applications. In addition, Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo will host special passport services in 2014. Please click here for a detailed list.
Passport Saturdays in 2014

The Monroe County Clerk's Downtown Office at 39 West Main Street will be open from 9:00 a.m. until 12:00 p.m. on the following Saturdays in 2014 to handle the processing of Passport applications.

January 25

February 22

March 29

April 26

May 31

June 28

July 26

August 30

September 27

October 25

November 29

Greece DMV at the Mall at Greece Ridge Open the Last Saturday of Every Month

County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo opens the Greece DMV office on the last Saturday of every month. These "DMV Saturdays" are an expansion of Dinolfo's "Renew Monroe!" program that encourages residents to handle their DMV and Passport business locally. The Greece DMV office will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on DMV Saturdays.


Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo Outlines Changes to State's Graduated Driver's License Law Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo today discussed a series of changes effective Monday, February 22, 2010 regarding New York’s Graduated License Law. Dinolfo said the changes – intended to protect younger drivers – are pertinent to junior permit holders that had scheduled their skills test for on or after February 22, 2010.
Cheryl Dinolfo Adds Helpful Information on New York State Gun Law to County Clerk Website In an effort to provide information to Monroe County Pistol Permit Holders to answer questions about the New York Secure Ammunition and Firearms Enforcement Act (NYSAFE ACT), Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo has created a new section on the Monroe County Clerk's website that includes a brief analysis on the new law, a New York State Police hotline for customer's to call and a link to the State FAQ website.
County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo Provides Yellow Dot Program Kits In All DMV Offices

Yellow Dot is a free program designed to help first responders provide life-saving medical attention in the event of an emergency.  It puts vital medical information in the hands of first responders at the unfortunate times when split-second decision making matters the most.

Click here to read more...

County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo Creates Online Registry for NYSAFE Act Privacy Form Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo has created an on-line registry on the County Clerk’s website for Monroe County Pistol Permit holders to sign up to have the NYSAFE Act privacy form e-mailed to them. This provides customers the convenience of receiving the form immediately when it becomes available and saves them a trip downtown to obtain the form.

Click here to read more...
County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo Announces E-Z Pass On-the-Go Tags Are Now Available in Local DMV Offices

Monroe County Clerk Cheryl Dinolfo announced today that NYS Thruway E-Z Pass On-the-Go tags are now available for purchase at Greece, Henrietta and Irondequoit DMV Branch Offices. Customers are able to pay for their tags with cash, check or credit card.

play / pause previous 1 of 10 next