County Executive Bello Reminds Residents Property Tax Due Date Has Been Extended To May 31

May 19th, 2020

View Full Press Release (PDF)

In-person payment of the 3rd and 4th installments at town and county offices continues to be prohibited through that date; payments still accepted by mail, online and via dropbox at County Office Building

Monroe County Executive Adam Bello is reminding the community that the due date for the third and fourth installments of Town and County real property taxes has been extended to May 31, 2020.

In-person payment of real property taxes at all County and Town facilities is also prohibited through May 31. Bello signed an Executive Order in March enacting the in-person payment ban and the deadline extension.

“It has been important throughout the COVID-19 crisis to ensure that people don’t need to make unnecessary trips, as well as to help protect Town and County employees,” said Bello. “I’ve also taken steps to ensure that residents who have been unable to pay their taxes because of my prohibition on in-person payments aren’t penalized; the County is continuing to absorb the third-party processing fee for online payments and is holding steady the March 3% interest rate through May 31.”

Even though the payment deadline for the third and fourth tax installments has been extended, state law requires the County to send notices to property owners who have an outstanding property tax balance in mid-May telling them what they will owe as of May 31. That “Unpaid Property Tax Notice” serves to inform the property owner of the total balance of tax and interest still due, and does not mean the property owner is subject any additional fees or penalties provided they make payment by the May 31 deadline.

Payments are still being accepted by mail or at a lobby drop box at the County Office Building, 39 W. Main Street, Rochester, New York 14614, or online at under “View/Pay Taxes On-line.”  Property owners should take note that New York State law prohibits extending the deadline for property tax payments beyond May 31.