; Adam Bello, County Executive

Monroe County Climate Action Plan Advisory Committee


Monroe County has long been a leader in innovative sustainability policy that has been both environmentally friendly and cost-effective. The County has demonstrated its leadership through its eight (8) LEED Certified facilities, 400+ vehicle green fleet, Waste to Watts Program, solar initiatives, and EcoPark.

Protecting the environment is key to maintaining our quality of life and preserving natural resources for future generations. Although there are many ideas on how to best protect our environment, it must start with individual accountability. Monroe County believes it can continue to be a leader in environmental policy by setting goals and objectives that will improve sustainability, reduce emissions, and strengthen resiliency.

Monroe County is joining the many communities across the country have looked towards Climate Actions Plans to coordinate and centralize environmental policy and initiatives.

Watch Meetings

Legislative Action

  • March 10, 2020 - The Monroe County Legislature authorized the creation of a Climate Action Plan Advisory Committee for the express purpose of developing a Climate Action Plan for the County of Monroe - see legislation 
  • May 12, 2020 - The Monroe County Legislature appoints seven (7) members to the Climate Action Plan Advisory Committee - see legislation

Public Comment

    A public forum will be held as part of each meeting to receive comments from citizens who have specific interests or opinions to express on important issues facing the Committee. You can email your comments to or call Tina Stevens at (585) 753-7646.


    • Matthew O'Connor – Co-Chairman
    • Michael Yudelson – Co-Chairman
    • Sue Hughes-Smith – Vice Chair
    • Tina Stevens - Secretary


      • Legislator Fred Ancello
        Majority Leader Appointee
      • John Botelho
        President Citizen Appointee
      • Legislator Karla Boyce
        President Appointee
      • Michael Garland *
        DES Representative
      • Matthew O'Connor
        Majority Leader Citizen Appointee
      • Sue Hughes-Smith
        Minority Leader Citizen Appointee
      • Legislator Michael Yudelson
        Minority Leader Citizen Appointee 
      • Kathryn McArdle
        County Executive Citizen Appointee

      Student Members

      • Helen Frank *
        Minority Leader Student Appointee
      • Liam Smith *
        County Executive Student Appointee
      • Leah Wirley *
        Majority Leader Student Appointee


        * denotes non-voting members

        Meeting Notices, Agendas, & Minutes

        Date Documents

        February 4, 2021

          Notice | Agenda | 

        January 7,  2021

        Notice | Agenda | Minutes

        December 3, 2020

        Notice | Agenda | Minutes

        November 5, 2020

        Notice | Agenda | Minutes

        October 1, 2020

        Notice | Agenda | Minutes
        September 3, 2020 Notice | Agenda | Minutes
        August 13, 2020 Notice | Agenda | Minutes 

          print this page    email this page    back to top

        Accessibility and Standards · Disclaimer and Privacy Policy · Non-Discrimination Policy

        Official Site of Monroe County, New York. Copyright © 2019 Monroe County. All Rights Reserved.
        Comments or suggestions? Please Contact Us

        Monroe County ecoparkMonroe County Curbside Recycling & RecoveryRecycling for Non-County Residents: