Full Jobs List Full Exams List

Violent Felony Offense Investigator

Attention: Monroe County full-time employees will receive a  $1,000 quarterly retention payment each quarter in 2024! Apply today - another great reason to join the Monroe County workforce!

Location: Rochester, NY
Title: Violent Felony Offense Investigator
Deadline: Until Filled
Salary: $50,786 - $69,584 annually
Agency/Dept.: District Attorney's Office

Description of Duties

PURSUANT TO SECTION 211 of the New York State Retirement and Social Security Law, the Monroe County District Attorney’s Office is conducting a recruitment effort for the position of Violent Felony Offense Investigator.  We are canvassing to see if there are any interested non-retirees who would meet the minimum qualifications.

This position involves conducting investigations, interviews and surveillance to substantiate facts and enhance cases handled by the Violent Felony Offense Bureau of the District Attorney's Office.  Employees work in accordance with established policies, practices and procedures under direct supervision of the Chief District Attorney Investigator.  Employees are required to be on-call at all times.  Supervision of others is not a responsibility of this class.  Does related work as required.

Minimum Qualifications

Graduation from high school or possession of an equivalency diploma, plus EITHER:

(A)  Seven (7) years of paid full-time or its part-time equivalent experience as a police officer that involves specialized investigative experience including such physical crimes as rape, robbery, homicide, arson, assault, burglary; OR,

(B)  Seven (7) years of paid full-time or its part-time equivalent experience as a police officer at the Sergeant level or higher; OR,

(C)  An equivalent combination of education and experience as defined by the limits of (A) and (B) above.


Possession of a Police Officer Training Certificate issued by the New York State Bureau for Municipal Police Training Council at the time of appointment.

Must be a United States Citizen at the time of appointment.

Possession of a valid class D license to operate a motor vehicle in New York State at the time of application.

Download/View Full Announcement